Skip to main content

William Burdett Land Grant and Thomas Burdett Transfer to John Custis

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01281

Scope and Contents

Sir William Berkeley land grant to William Burdett of three hundred acres of land in Accomac County for the transportation of six persons into the colony, 3 Oct. 1641.  

On verso, Thomas Burdett to whom land is granted by Berkeley assigns his land to John Custis of Northampton.  January 15, 1657.    William Burdett's wife, widow Alicia Traveller, later married John Custis as her fourth husband.  D.S.  2 pp.

Note: John Custis built his Arlington plantation on this land.

Dates

  • 1641 October 3, 1657 January 15

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part,permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

William Burdett was born in England in 1590 according to one account, and born in 1596 according to another account. He was one of the "ancient planters," having arrived on the Eastern Shore aboard the Susan in 1615. He started life in the colonies as an indentured servant in the household of Captain Epes (the "Accowmacke Commander"). He married Alice Traveller. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.17 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Purchase. Accession number 1986.10.

Processing Information:

Processed by Special Collections Staff.
Title
Guide to the William Burdett Land Grant and Thomas Burdett Transfer to John Custis
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson.
Date
2012-04-23
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: