Box Small Collections Oversize Box 2
Container
Contains 29 Results:
Land Grant and Transfer, 3 October 1641, 1647 January 15
File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Sir William Berkeley land grant to William Burdett of three hundred acres of land in Accomac County for the transportation of six persons into the colony, 3 Oct. 1641. On verso, Thomas Burdett to whom land is granted by Berkeley assigns his land to John Custis of Northampton. January 15, 1657. William Burdett's wife, widow Alicia Traveller, later married John Custis as her fourth husband. D.S. 2 pp. Note: John Custis built his Arlington plantation on this...
Dates:
3 October 1641, 1647 January 15
Bill of Complaint, 1786 October 7
File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Bill of complaint, 1786, of William Harvey of Spotsylvania asking that a writ of subpoena and injunction be issued to Morto Brien (Mort O'Brien) and Joseph Prentis, his attorney, to retain the amount of a judgement against William Harvey until the lawsuit can be tried. Bears affidavit, 1786, of G[eorge] Weedon as alderman of Fredericksburg, Va. Undated.
Dates:
1786 October 7
Deed, 1820 July 20
File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Deed of land from William Sheaff to Thomas Mitchell, Middleton, Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania. July 20, 1820.
Dates:
1820 July 20
Letter, 1846 Oct. 2
File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Letter from James Cocke, Tar Bay, Prince George County, Virginia to Richard Eppes, Philadelphia, [PA] about an indian skeleton found on his land in Prince Geroge County. October 2, 1846.
Dates:
1846 Oct. 2