Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box Small Collections Box 83

 Container

Contains 11 Collections and/or Records:

Minutes Book, 1903-1904

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Minutes and bylaws for the Indiana Oil Company. The articles of incorporation were filed in South Dakota in 1903 and the central location was first Chicago, and later changed to in Portland, Indiana. In addition to bylaws, articles of incorporation and minutes, the volume includes the assignments of oil leases, proxy references, sample stock certificates. Of the 237 pages of the volume, 60 have been filled in.

Autographs: Aislabie through Ellis

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents Aislabie, John. J. Wallop. Geo: Baillie Bingley Blind, Karl Bradley, G.G. Briggs, John Britton, John (2 items) Brooke, Stepford A. Brougham, Henry Peter. Baron Brougham (2 items) Brown, Colin Rae Brownrigg, Robert Bruce, J. Collingwood Brunel, Sir Isambard Kingdom Buccleuch, Henry Scott, third Duke Buckingham and Chandos, Duke of Buckland, William (2 items) Bulwer, W.H.L (2 items) Burdett, Mr. Burdett, Sir Francis Burdett-Coutts, Baroness Burke, Sir John Bernard (2 items) Burnard [?],...

Autographs: Ellis through Walpole

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 2
Scope and Contents Ellis, Ralph Ellis, Robinson Ellis, William Ellison, John Q. (?) Elmer, W. Elphinstone, Mount Stuart Elton, Oliver Ely, H. (?) Ely, J. Emes, H. Lonsdale Emetley, William Empson, William Englefield, Sir Henry Charles Englehurst, G.W. Ensor, George de Eresby, Willoughby or Lord Willoughby Erle, P. Erle, Thomas Erle, Sir William Erskine, Mr. d'Esle, Augustus Essex, William Essex Everand Gibbs, Sir Samuel Gibson, Thomas Milner Gloucester & Bristol Goodwin, Edward William Gordon, Sir James...

Royal Court of Guernsey Contracts, 1675, 1706

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Identifier: id321740
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Royal Court of Guernsey contracts by Sir Edmund Andros or representative, both written in French.  May 20, 1675 rent and inheritance of third party contract signed by Charles Andros, Lieut. of Edmund Andros, Lt. Gov. of New York and Bailiff of Guernsey and Lord of Sausmares, written on vellum with attached seal. Contract of third parties, addressed to Eleazar Le Marchant, Lieut of Edmund Andros, Lord of Sausmares, Lieut. Governor and Bailiff of Guernsey for Queen Anne, dated October 18, 1706,...

Appointment, 1803 Dec. 29

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Identifier: id321724
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Document with paper seal where Preserved Alger of Warren County, Rhode Island, appoints Thomas Goodwin, of Fredericksburg, Virginia, as his attorney.  December 29, 1803.

Collection, 1887, 1892, 1908

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Identifier: id321990
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of Grover Cleveland items given and collected by Flora A. Darling.  Includes a letter from Mrs. Frances F. Cleveland, Lakewood, New Jersey, to Mrs. Augustus Ramon Salas declining the Presidency of the United States Daughters [of 1812], May 11, 1892.  August 27, 1887 document with the Presidental Seal and signature of Glover Cleveland, President.  Typed black bordered announcement of the death of Hon. Glover Cleveland, "A Proclamation by the President of the United States [Theodore...

Papers, 1856-1877

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Identifier: id322006
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Invoices, accounts and correspondence of Charles Colfelt of Frederick County, Virginia.  Account holders include Stieners Planing Mill, William Trenary, Peter Shires, Shires and Jordan and A.B. Cramer and Co.  Frederick County order to Charles Colfelt to be surveyor of Precinct No. 4 in the 3rd Magisterial District in 1868 (the names of the tithables are listed). 2 letters regarding financial matters. An inventory of stock, January 31, 1877.

Letters, 1862, 1863

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Identifier: id321176
Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains two letters written by Mary Randolph Blain during the Civil War. In the first letter, circa 1862 December, Blain wrote about  Union troops patrolling Williamsburg, the College being set on fire, as well as news about local residents such as Mrs. Tucker, Mary Southall, and Thomas Ambler, rector of Bruton Parish Church. The second letter, dated 1863 March 31, described the fire at the Wren Building, news about family, and Union troops stealing goods from Williamsburg area...

Papers, 1773-1938

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Originals and copies of papers, 1804-1928, of the Davidson family of Frederick County, Va. Includes correspondence from Samuel Davidson in Sacramento, California to his father, William Davidson and brother David Davidson describing California in the Gold Rush era. The papers also include a deed, 5 April 1773, signed by Thomas Lord Fairfax to Thomas Talbot for land in Frederick County, Va. and genealogical material concerning the Davidson family.

Papers, 1882, 1887

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 83, Folder: 1
Identifier: id321946
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Account of Sales, mostly of books and related items, made by George W. Mayo, Auctioneer, for Peyton R. Carrington, 1887. Letter to Peyton R. Carrington informing him that he has been elected a member of the Virginia Historical Society,  November 14, 1882.