Skip to main content

Royal Court of Guernsey Contracts

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00165

Scope and Contents

Royal Court of Guernsey contracts by Sir Edmund Andros or representative, both written in French.  May 20, 1675 rent and inheritance of third party contract signed by Charles Andros, Lieut. of Edmund Andros, Lt. Gov. of New York and Bailiff of Guernsey and Lord of Sausmares, written on vellum with attached seal. Contract of third parties, addressed to Eleazar Le Marchant, Lieut of Edmund Andros, Lord of Sausmares, Lieut. Governor and Bailiff of Guernsey for Queen Anne, dated October 18, 1706, signed by Eleazar LeMarchant, Thomas De Lisle and Hellier Bonamy with the seal of the Bailiwick of the Island of Guernsey and reverse coat of arms of individual, probably from a signet ring, written on vellum.  Includes a November 11, 1929 letter from Edith Carey, the donor, with some history of Sir Edmund Andros, Guernsey, and a list of possible buildings that might have an association with the college.  Includes a postcard of St. Martin's Church, Guernsey where Andros supposedly worshipped.

Dates

  • 1675, 1706

Creator

Language of Materials

English French

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical / Historical

Andros, Sir Edmund; N.Y. governor 1674-1681; president of Dominion of New England 1686-1689; Va. governor 1692-1697 Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Administrative History: Sir Edmund Andros was Governor of New York, 1674-1681, made Governor of the Dominion of New England in 1686 by King James II, appointed governor of Virginia in 1692, appointed governor of Maryland from 1693-1694 and Guernsey from 1704-1706.

Administrative History:

Sir Edmund Andros was Governor of New York, 1674-1681, made Governor of the Dominion of New England in 1686 by King James II, appointed governor of Virginia in 1692, appointed governor of Maryland from 1693-1694 and Guernsey from 1704-1706.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Gift.
Title
Guide to the Royal Court of Guernsey Contracts
Date
2016-12-07
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: