Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714
Person
Found in 7 Collections and/or Records:
William Cole Collection of Documents Pertaining to the Colonial-Era
Collection
Identifier: MS 00196
Content Description
Documents, prints, and heraldry pertaining to Virginia governors from the 17th and 18th centuries. Includes letters and documents signed by John Murray, Robert Brooke, James Wood, Beverly Randolph, Patrick Henry, Edmund Andros, Jeffrey Amherst, Norborne Berkeley, Robert Hunter, Francis Fauquier, Earl De La Warr, James Blair, and Robert Dinwiddie among others. Also included in the collection are prints, coats of arms, and commemorative coins.
Dates:
1676-1971; Majority of material found within 1730-1770
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Fairfax Harrison Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates:
1736-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
King William III and Queen Mary II Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75s W67
Scope and Contents
This collection contains items relating to King William III of England (1650-1702) and his wife Queen Mary II (1662-1694) spanning 1689 to 1710. There is also research material, dated 1986-1988, relating to King William III and Queen Mary II. The collection consists of three letters of appointment to office, a commission (written in Latin), a warrant for payment of services, and a manuscript volume of public revenues and expenditures during the reigns of William III, Mary II, and Queen Anne...
Dates:
1689-1710
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
King William III Letter to Sir Edmund Andros
Collection
Identifier: SC 00080
Scope and Contents
Letter written to Andros, noting that as a result of the Royal Charter establishing the College, the Crown grants Francis Nicholson "and others named in our said charter" the sum of 1,985 pounds 14 shillings and 10 pence "out of such Money Received for our Revenue of Quit Rents in our said Colony as is remaining in the hands of our Trusty and Welbeloved [sic] William Byrd." The letter further dictates the dissemenation of funds to other individuals, including the estate of Nathaniel...
Dates:
1693 March 1
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
King William III Letter to Sir Edmund Andros
Collection
Identifier: SC 00121
Scope and Contents
Letter written to Andros requiring that he and others give their support to the College of William & Mary.
Dates:
1694 April 14
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. James Blair Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.01
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1980.128 contains papers of and relating to James Blair, first president of the College of William and Mary. The collection contains two original manuscripts: a funeral bill by Blair dated 1701, and a sermon erroneously attributed to Blair dated 1747. The bulk of the collection consists of copies collected for research purposes, mostly in 1940-1941. Includes biographical material; extracts and copies from official records; copies of correspondence; sermons; notes on paintings of...
Dates:
1695-1747
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Royal Court of Guernsey Contracts
Collection
Identifier: SC 00165
Scope and Contents
Royal Court of Guernsey contracts by Sir Edmund Andros or representative, both written in French. May 20, 1675 rent and inheritance of third party contract signed by Charles Andros, Lieut. of Edmund Andros, Lt. Gov. of New York and Bailiff of Guernsey and Lord of Sausmares, written on vellum with attached seal. Contract of third parties, addressed to Eleazar Le Marchant, Lieut of Edmund Andros, Lord of Sausmares, Lieut. Governor and Bailiff of Guernsey for Queen Anne, dated October 18,...
Dates:
1675, 1706
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- College of William and Mary--History--17th century 3
- Correspondence 3
- Legal documents 3
- College of William and Mary--History--18th century 2
- Virginia--History--18th century 2
- Account books 1
- American diaries--Women authors 1
- College of William and Mary--History 1
- Contracts 1
- Debt, Imprisonment for--Virginia 1
- Diaries 1
- Finances 1
- Financial records 1
- Great Britain--History 1
- Guernsey 1
- History of the College 1
- Horses--Virginia 1
- Letter books 1
- Manuscripts (document genre) 1
- Minutes 1
- Notebooks 1
- Parishes--Virginia 1
- Photographs 1
- Photostats 1
- Prince William County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
- Private Libraries 1
- Scrapbooks 1
- Virginia--Governors 1
- Virginia--History--17th century 1
- Virginia--History--19th century 1
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775--Historiography 1
- Virginia--Religious history 1
- Women--History--Virginia 1 + ∧ less
∨ more