Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box Small Collections Box 82

 Container

Contains 7 Results:

Letter, 1819 Aug. 5

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Identifier: id269822
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

John Quincy Adams to St. George Tucker, August 5, 1819, sending him 12 bound volumes of the Fifteeth Congress, First session [4 vols. Extant in Tucker's library].

Minute Book, 1894-1899

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Minute book, 1894-1899, of the Sylvan Rebecah Degree Lodge No. 220 (Alba, Mi.) which was a women's auxiliary of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

Ephemera and Photographs, 1943-1946

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Program for formal opening of "United Service Organizations Club" on May 6, 1943; program for official opening of the "United Service Organizations Residence Club, College Terrace via Richmond Road" for May 17, 1944; certificate for "Meritorious Service in USO War Work" for Mr. R.M. Usry, September 8, 1946; program for August 14, 1946 "Closing Ceremony" of the USO on Duke of Gloucester Street; September 1946 "Souvenir Booklet, United Service Organizations Residence Club operated by National...

Collection

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents Copy of will of Mary Winder Garrett, 1908. Correspondence between Edward Belvin and former Williamsburg residents regarding the Williamsburg Reunion, dated 1984 and 1988.Copy of marriage license between Cornelias Knightengale and Mary A. Morris, James City County, on December 24, 1874. Excellence in Deportment Award Honor to George Thorresenn (Thoresen), sixth grade student at Wililamsburg Graded High School. May 22, 1908. Appointment letter from Army Nurse Corps...

Lecture, 1846-1847

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: A handwritten discourse on the moral causes of the ascendency of the Anglo Saxon race delivered at Alexandria, Virginia, Lyceum, Dec. 15, 1846, and Jan. 5, 1847. First page: "Ladies and Gentlemen, I shall venture to throw on your indulgence, this evening, some observations on the moral causes o the ascendency of the Anglo-Saxon race.  As most of us here present belong to that branch of the great human family, our interst may be supposed to be peculiar in...

Records, 1985-1994

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

One ledger book of lists of members and attendance, with news clippings of events and member's obituaries.  Records on the first tournament in Williamsburg, Virginia in 1987-88, material on other tournaments, assessment of group, notes, names and addresses of members and correspondence.

Sidney B. Smith was secretary from May 1, 1986.  The name was changed from "Group" to "Club" in August 1993.

Lina Nancy Potter Papers

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01198
Scope and Contents Correspondence, photographs, and military papers concerning the World War II service of 2nd Lt. A.N.C. Lina Nancy Potter (1901-1975) of Narragansett, Rhode Island. Potter enlisted in the United States Armed Forces in 1942 and served as a nurse in a military hospital in India from 1943-1945. This collection consists of 23 letters of her outgoing wartime correspondence to family (her Aunt Harriet E. Weaver and Uncle Charles Weaver of Rhode Island) in the United States, her military papers, and...