Skip to main content

Campaigns and Elections Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C17

Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of documents, election tickets, campaign literature, and photographs from national, state, and local elections. Most of the state election material concerns Virginia and the largest group of materials is from the 1932 presidential campaign.

Dates

  • 1816-1972
  • Majority of material found in 1932

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

77.00 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 1984.07 was received in memory of James Thomas Wood (1872-196) on 2/9/2984. Other gifts.

Processing Information:

Processed by Cindi Barwick in 1984.
Title
Guide to the Campaigns and Elections Collection
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Cindi Barwick.
Date
2007-08-09
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: