Skip to main content

Bishop James Madison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Pst

Scope and Contents

Photostats of correspondence, 1777-1812, of Bishop James Madison, President of College of William & Mary, with Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Joseph C. Cabell, St. George Tucker, and others.  These copies are from originals housed in various libraries:  Harvard College Library, Free Library of Philadelphia, University of the South, Church Historical Society in Austin, Texas, Maryland Historical Society, Chicago Historical Society, Yale University and the Free Library of Philadelphia.  Includes Acc. 1971.15, copies of material relating to James Madison, collected and compiled by Dr. George Cleaveland.

387 items.

Dates

  • 1777-1812

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

The Right Reverend James Madison (August 27, 1749 - March 6, 1812) was the first bishop of the Diocese of Virginia of the Episcopal Church, USA. He was also a student (1770-1772), professor of philosophy (1772-1775), and president (1777-1812) of the College of William and Mary. Madison was born near Staunton, Virginia, Madison was a cousin of President James Madison. He graduated in 1771 from the College of William and Mary and was admitted to the bar, though he did not practice law. Madison taught philosophy and mathematics at the college from 1773 to 1775, when he went to England to be ordained a priest of the Church of England. In 1777, he was elected president of William and Mary, serving until his death in 1812. Madison served as chaplain of the Virginia House of Delegates in 1777 and organized his students into a militia company. He presided over the first convention of the Diocese of Virginia in 1785 and was consecrated bishop on September 19, 1790, in Canterbury, England.

Extent

1.00 Linear Feet

Custodial History:

Original of the July 30, 1807 letter from Bishop Madison to Governor Cabell is part of the Protestant Episcopal Bishops Collection MS 21, Box 5, folder 238, Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.

Acquisition Information:

Purchase or gift from 1940 to 1971. Acc. 1971.15 was a gift of College of William & Mary professor David Holmes.

Electronic Format:

From the Jefferson Papers, James Madison Papers, and the Monroe Papers in the Library of Congress.

Related Materials:

See other papers by Bishop James Madison; Bishop James Madison Letter to John Norton, 1776, Bishop James Madison Letter to William White, 1795, Bishop James Madison Letter to James Breckiridge, 1805, Office of the President, James Madison, 1775-1979 (UA 2.03), Petition of the President and Professors, 1787 (UA 96), and the James M. Owens Collection of Madison Family Material 1776-1953 1933-1953. (Mss. 65 Ow2). See also; James Madison Papers, Duke University Libraries.
Title
Guide to the Bishop James Madison Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-19
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: