Series 32: Williamsburg
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents An artificial grouping of papers, 1632-1973, relating to Williamsburg, Va. Includes maps, articles, drawings, letters, material concerning the Battle of Williamsburg, papers concerning the Black population, photographs of buildings, church bulletins, papers concerning civic organizations, deeds, leases, tax receipts, advertisements, papers concerning education and items relating to Colonial National Historical Park. The materials that comprise this collection were donated in batches to W&M Special Collections Research Center by John D. Haskell, Jr., John Lawrence, Brian Blouet, Parke Rouse, and Staunton Aylor between the years of 1993 and 2001. Some materials in this collection were purchased by W&M Special Collections Research Center. Related material: Material given by the Williamsburg Historic Records Association has been accessioned and filed individually. Enter "Williamsburg Historic Records Association" as "Creator" to see these accessions. Mss. 79 Sw4 Earl Gregg Swem Papers, 2008.364 addition: this group may originally have been part of folders 4 and 7 of the Williamsburg Papers. Mss. 1.09 Williamsburg (Va.) Ephemera Collection, 1892-[ongoing] Mss. 91 B38 Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) Records, 1662-[ongoing] Mss. Acc. 1991.43 Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown (Va.) Photographs, circa 1890-1930 Some newspaper runs were removed from this collection and added the newspaper collection.
- Creation: 1663-1980
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
From the Collection: 10.00 Linear Feet
Genre / Form
- Deeds--Virginia--James City County
- Financial records
- Receipts (financial records)
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs