Special Collections Research Center

Includes courtship letters between Dr. Augustine Smith of Yorktown, Va. to Alice Grymes Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. whom he later married. Also includes correspondence, 1792, between Smith and John Page, seeking permission to marry Alice Page. Also includes a poem by Smith about his love for Alice and a certificate of Smith's course study at University of Edinburgh.

Papers (including business correspondence, accounts and account books) of Cornelius Smith, miller and merchant, of Laurel Mills, Rappahannock County, Va.; of his son S. Russell Smith; and of Daniel Amon Grimsley who served in the Virginia General Assembly. Consists of 4 boxes of material and 39 ledgers.

Journal, 1853-1857, of Daniel G. Smith, merchant, of Leesburg, Va., which includes a list of slaves with a record of provisions and shoes; sketch of lime kiln; recipes; and medical cures.

Ledger, 1859-1867, of Edward B. Smith, Piedmont Academy, Culpeper County, Va. which includes Smith family data; "Morven Farm" account, 1881-1888, with Edward B. Smith; and loose papers.

Letter from Francis H. Smith at the University of Virginia [Charlottesville, Virginia] to R.G. H. Kean.  Declines the invitation to come and lecture in Lynchburg [Va.]  and states that the Board [of Visitors] is making magnificent provisions for my department and "that the Era of makeshift [is] to be at an end."

Two letters written by Francis H. Smith. The first letter, September 6, 1860, to James T. Ames, concerns Armory, "model musket," and swords. The second letter, March 7, 1888, concerns his resignation as superintendent of Virginia Military Institute in 1886 which was withdrawn and an investigation into his period of service by the Virginia General Assembly. Both letters include a typescript copy.

Ledger, 1840-1889, of Jacob B. Smith, carpenter and miller, Middlebrook, Augusta County, Va.

Deposition of Thomas Smith of Matthews County, Virginia in a controversy with Alexander Maccaulay of Yorktown about the ship "Charles Carter", then docked in Norfolk, Virginia.  Written on the verso of "The Virginia Gazette &c. Extraordinary" dated December 16, 1795

One handwritten document which includes a copy of a 1785 bond whereby Martin Ashby of Louisa County agrees to pay one thousand pounds to George Noble of Frederick County, Virginia for 350 acres; a 1784 bond to Edward Snickers for an exchange of land between Snickers and Ashby for 306  acres in Frederick County and 350 acres in Loudoun County; and letters from Edward Snickers about his land transactions with Ashby.

This collection includes announcements, correspondence, minutes, publications, and other material related to the Department of Sociology at William & Mary.

Ledger, 1876-1879, of W. H. Speck, merchant and farmer, of Rockingham County, Va.

Papers, 1757-1792, of the Rev. John Jones Spooner including his election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; and his installation as minister to Martins Brandon Parish, Prince George County, Va. Also Includes certificate of ordination, 1792, signed by Bishop James Madison.

Account book of Spring Forge Iron Works, possibly in Rockbridge County, Virginia.

Papers, 1861-1887, of the Sprinkel family of Harrisonburg, Virginiaa. Includes letters, 1870-1887, of Charles A. Sprinkel, his wife Sallie Sprinkel, and his sons C. Carter Sprinkel and Walter Nelson Sprinkel as well as letters of C. A. Sprinkel & Co., Harrisonburg, dealers in agricultural implements; and accounts of Sprinkel & Bowman, Harrisonburg. Several letters concern attempted settlement of a tobacco claim.

Account book, 1832-1836, of B. J. Spruell, guardian of Eleanor P. Ross. Also includes accounts of an unidentified person of [Rockbridge County, Va.?] concerning iron and hemp and accounts, 1826-1831, of the estate of John Ross.

Fourteen photographs showing the grounds, buildings, and students of St. Emma's Industrial and Agricultural institute, a school for Black boys founded in 1895 in Powhatan County, Virginia. It was renamed St. Emma's Military Academy and closed in 1972.

Minute book, 1925-1929, of the vestry of St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church, Portsmouth, Va.

The letter from St. Leger Landon Carter, to Dr. Beverley R. Wellford, regards his personal medical bill as well as the medicines provided to his enslaved servant, Pleasant.