Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.)
Organization
Found in 7 Collections and/or Records:
Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.
Dates:
1909-1966
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
W. Melville Jones Photographs of Williamsburg (Va.)
Collection
Identifier: SC 01188
Scope and Contents
Three photographs of two homes in Williamsburg, Virginia where W. Melville Jones lived during 1934 and 1936. The two houses were rented to The College of William and Mary faculty. One house is a two story building which was beside the Theta House, but is now a vacant lot and the second house was near the intersection of North Boundary and Richmond Road and is now a park/garden. One photograph of a car at an auto repair shop which is where the Blue Talon is in...
Dates:
1934-1936
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents
Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more. Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.
Dates:
1873-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lee Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates:
1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Stryker Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.37A
Scope and Contents
Material about and by Mayor Henry Stryker and Colonial Williamsburg hostess Fannie Stryker including reminiscences of Mrs. Stryker, photographic album on Mayor Stryker's retirement, scrapbook, 1957, of Jamestown Festival and visit of Queen Elizabeth. Mss. Acc. 1989.37a
Dates:
1916-1977
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mary Elizabeth McGinnis White Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00662
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1938-1994, of Mary Elizabeth Maginnes White. Includes Colonial Williamsburg picture ID; bronze medal, 1983 for Summit of Industrialized Nations, 1983 letter thanking her for her efforts in making the Summit successful; photograph, ca 1944, of Mathew Whaley students, photographs, 1994 of 50th reunion of Mathew Whaley students; newspaper clipping, 1994, concerning reunion; invitation and graduation photograph, 1994; program 1994 junior-senior banquet; issue June 5,1944, of the Powder...
Dates:
1938-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 5
- Correspondence 4
- Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
- Reports 4
- Letters (correspondence) 3
- Programs 3
- Scrapbooks 3
- Broadsides 2
- Certificates 2
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
- Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
- Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
- Newspapers 2
- Notebooks 2
- Pamphlets 2
- Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
- American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
- Booklets 1
- Books 1
- Business records 1
- Christmas cards 1
- Clippings (information artifacts) 1
- Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
- College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
- College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
- College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
- Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- Diplomas 1
- Drawings and graphics 1
- Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
- Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Essays 1
- Faculty housing 1
- Identity cards 1
- Invitations 1
- James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Membership lists 1
- Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
- Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
- Mental illness--United States 1
- Mentally ill--Care 1
- Minutes 1
- Norge (Va.)--History 1
- Obituaries 1
- Oral histories 1
- Ordinance 1
- Pen drawing--19th century. 1
- Poems 1
- Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
- Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
- Summit of Industrialized Nations (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Buildings, structures, etc 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--World War, 1939-1945 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Utilities 1
- Women college students 1
- Women--Education--Virginia 1
- Women--Education--Virginia--History 1
- World War, 1914-1918 1
- World War, 1939-1945 1
- World War, 1939-1945--United States 1
- World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 1
- Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- York County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781--Centennial celebrations, etc 1
- Zoning ordinances 1 + ∧ less
∨ more