College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae
Organization
Found in 21 Collections and/or Records:
Thomas L. Alfriend Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00269
Scope and Contents
Chiefly letters, 1861-1865, from Thomas L. Alfriend (1843-1901) Sergeant, of Company B, 15th Virginia Infantry and Parken's Battery, Alexander's Battalion, Longstreet's Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, from camps in Virginia and Tennessee to family members in Richmond, Virginia. Includes letter dated May 26, 1861 from Alfriend while stationed in Williamsburg, Virginia.The addition contains 25 typewritten pages of transcripts of letters by Jefferson Davis, James Seddon and others...
Dates:
1843-1901; Majority of material found in 1860-1865
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Leonard Born Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.048
Scope and Contents
The collection includes papers written by Born during the course of his attendance at William & Mary, mainly for English classes. There is also correspondence from 1985 and loose pages from a photo album believed to have been assembled by Born, while a student at William & Mary. The contents are primarily photographs of campus and Williamsburg area from the 1926-1927. Additional photographs relate to life in rural, early twentieth century Virginia, the Newport News Shipyard,...
Dates:
1924-1927, 1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Bray Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents
One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949. He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.
Dates:
1950-1999; Majority of material found in 1985-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bright Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.24
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Bright Family of Williamsburg, Virginia and Philadephia, Pennsylvania. Correspondence and business papers of Robert Anderson Bright of Williamsburg, Virginia and his son Robert Southall Bright, College of William and Mary class of 1891 and a Philadelphia lawyer. Personal and professional correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs and legal papers. Includes letters between Robert Southall Bright while a student at William and Mary to his father and letter...
Dates:
1876-1933
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carlton Casey Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents
The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.
Additions to the collection are described individually.
Dates:
1894-1999
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Denison Cole Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Fred Frechette Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.24
Scope and Contents
Fred Frechette's papers which include his Richmond Times-Dispatch newspaper articles on Williamsburg, Virginia, photographs and his script and related material on "The Once and Future Camelot" a production given for the Williamsburg Reunion. Material related to his duty as a volunteer fireman and his March 25, 2000 pamphlet "William and Mary Students and the Travis House, Feb. 1, 1943-Feb. 28, 1951."
Dates:
1930-2000; Majority of material found in 1950-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Herbert L. Ganter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 G15
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, clippings, photographs, publications, and other material collected by Herbert Ganter, W&M Class of 1927 and Archivist of the College of William & Mary from 1948-1974. Included in the collection are correspondence, photographs, and journals written by and collected by Ganter while a student at William and Mary, correspondence and clippings about information from Swem Library's holdings while Ganter was College Archivist, and correspondence...
Dates:
circa 1883-1979; Majority of material found within 1915-1965
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
J. Kenneth Graham Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.25
Scope and Contents
Collection of items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia and the personal papers of J. Kenneth Graham, particularly genealogy of his ancestor, James Graham of Pennsylvania.
Dates:
1934-1986; Majority of material found in 1975-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Turner Henley Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H39
Scope and Contents
Chiefly letters, 1916-1921, received by John Turner Henley, while a student at the College of William and Mary and the University of Virginia Law School. The letters are from female and male friends from Williamsburg, The College of William and Mary, and The University of Virginia. They write about their studies, student life, fraternity activities, work, and social life. Other correspondents include Turner Henley's father, Novell L. Henley, Virginia Congressman and Williamsburg, Virginia...
Dates:
1857-1921; Majority of material found in 1918-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lee Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates:
1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Page Letters
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.219
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of two letters. The first letter is dated October 13th. Though no year is listed, it was likely written by Page in 1831. The letter is addressed to Burwell Bassett, who served on the Board of Visitors at William & Mary with Page. The letter focuses on the recently vacated mathematics professorship and Page's feelings regarding it. The second letter is dated November 30, 1836 and is addressed to Col. Charles S. Morgan of Richmond. In it, Page mentions the...
Dates:
circa 1831, 1836
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Page-Saunders Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P15
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and papers of members of the Page and Saunders families. Includes correspondence of Margaret Lowther Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. with her daughter Lucy Burwell Page Saunders and her son-in-law Robert Saunders. The collection includes a diary, 1826, of Robert Saunders while on a trip from New York to Le Havre; published stories of Lucy Burwell Page Saunders; manuscript stories by Roberta Saunders; and correspondence of Robert Page Saunders....
Dates:
1790-1932
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Powhatan Robertson Journal
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.236
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of a journal kept by Robertson while a student at William & Mary in 1816. He mentions engaging in social activities within town, places within town such as the "Old Capitol," and sometimes refers to lectures. He frequently writes about women.
A transcription of this journal was published in the William & Mary Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan.,1931), pp. 61-68. A typed transcription is included with the original.
Dates:
1816
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert Saunders Letters
Collection
Identifier: MS 00270
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of 66 letters written by Robert Saunders of Williamsburg, Virginia to his wife Lucy Burwell Saunders (60 letters) and his daughters Lucy Page Saunders (three letters) and Roberta P. Saunders (two2 letters) from 1829-1867. There is also a letter written on May 4, 1847 to Overton Bernard, the father of College of William and Mary student Jesse Talbot Bernard.
Dates:
1829-1867
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Howard Scammon Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates:
1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Woodbridge Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.09
Scope and Contents
Papers relating to the Woodbridge and Mendenhall Families including materials of Julia Woodbridge Oxrieder, folklorist and author; her brother, Hensley Woodbridge, a bibliographer of Latin American literature; and their parents, Dean of the College of William and Mary Law School, Dudley Woodbridge and his wife. Some material relates to Williamsburg, Virginia. The collection includes diaries, scrapbooks, photographs and other materials.
Dates:
1927-2001
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Wythe Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W99
Scope and Contents
Copies of letters, 1781-1783, from George Wythe, Williamsburg, Va. , one to John Adams and another to Thomas Jefferson concerning the use of the College of William and Mary as a hospital. Also includes a magazine article about Wythe; newspaper copy of William Munford's oration at Wythe's funeral; correspondence, 1921, of Robert M. Hughes concerning a monument for Wythe's grave; a form book of Peter Tinsley, clerk of the High Court of Chancery which gives "Forms of Injunctions," Forms of...
Dates:
1779-1927
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Filtered By
- Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Correspondence 14
- Photographs 13
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 13
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 9
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 8
- College of William and Mary--History--19th century 7
- Financial records 5
- Legal documents 5
- Scrapbooks 5
- Certificates 4
- Clippings (information artifacts) 4
- Poems 4
- Diaries 3
- Genealogy 3
- Notebooks 3
- Printed ephemera 3
- Slides (photographs) 3
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
- Account books 2
- College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
- College of William and Mary--Students 2
- College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 2
- Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
- Diplomas 2
- Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
- Letters (correspondence) 2
- Manuscripts (document genre) 2
- Minutes 2
- Newspapers 2
- Pamphlets 2
- Programs 2
- Publications 2
- Reports 2
- Typescripts 2
- World War, 1914-1918 2
- African Americans 1
- African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
- Agendas (administrative records) 1
- Audiocassettes 1
- Baptists--Virginia--History 1
- Birthday cards 1
- Books 1
- Broadsides 1
- Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
- Business records 1
- Checks (bank checks) 1
- Christmas cards 1
- College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
- College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
- College of William and Mary--Work Study Program 1
- College theater--United States 1
- Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
- Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- Confederate States of America. Army Virginia Infantry Regiment, 15th. Company B 1
- Confederate States of America. Army. Longstreets I Corps Alexander's Battalion. Parker's Battery 1
- Confederate States of America. War Dept 1
- Continential Congress 1
- Course work 1
- Declaration of Independence 1
- Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- Drawings and graphics 1
- Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
- Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
- Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
- Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
- Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
- Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
- Europe--Description and travel--20th century 1
- Fliers (printed matter) 1
- Fundraising campaigns 1
- Greeting cards 1
- Hampden-Sydney College 1
- History of the College 1
- House of Burgesses 1
- James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
- Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
- Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
- Journalists 1
- Lawyers--Pennsylvania--Philadelphia 1
- Medicine--Prescriptions--19th century 1
- Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
- Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
- Mental illness--United States 1
- Mentally ill--Care 1
- Negatives 1
- Obituaries 1
- Pen drawing--19th century. 1
- Photography, Stereoscopic 1
- Plays (document genre) 1
- Postcards 1
- Postcards--Virginia 1
- Receipts (financial records) 1
- Reminiscences 1
- Resolutions (administrative records) 1
- Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Scripts (documents) 1
- Scripts, Vocal 1 + ∧ less
∨ more