College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae
Organization
Found in 11 Collections and/or Records:
Class of 1943 Scrapbook
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.074
Scope and Contents
This collection is stored off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval.
One scrapbook, approximately 13" x 11", containing news clippings about events at the College of William and Mary illustrating the history of the Class of 1943, compiled by Claire Bardwell, Class Historian.
Dates:
1939-1943
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Class of 1971 Scrapbooks
Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.075
Scope and Contents
Two green scrapbooks, approximately 15" x 13" each, containing news clippings and photographs that detail the activities of the College of William and Mary class of 1971. Some of the items in the scrapbook are loose.
Dates:
1967-1971
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nina Pruett Edmunds Scrapbooks and Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.175
Scope and Contents
Contains two scrapbooks belonging to Nina Pruett Edmunds while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1931-1933. Included in one scrapbook are programs from plays and special events, news articles related to student life on campus, photographs of students, and material related to the sesquicentennial of the battle of Yorktown. The second scrapbook is in a binder labeled "House or Home?",created for a home economics class, with notes and glued in magazine clippings on different...
Dates:
1931-1933
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carl A. "Pappy" Fehr Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.017
Scope and Contents
The collection contains materials related to Dr. Carl A. Fehr's music professorship as well as his direction of the College of William and Mary's choral program and those of The Common Glory and The Founders summer pageants and the Williamsburg Baptist Church choir. In addition to his reflections on choral direction and discipline, the collection includes extensive materials on Dr. Fehr's professional management of the College's choral program, a series of published choral programs, a...
Dates:
1907-2012; Majority of material found in 1945-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William and Mary Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae (GALA), Inc. Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 42
Scope and Contents
This collection encompasses the records of the organization William and Mary Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae (GALA) founded in 1986. Materials in the collection date from before the organization's founding to the present, with the majority of the material covering the years 1986 through 1992. The earliest records were maintained and created by Stephen Snell and George Greenia. The major issues covered include the founding of the organization, initial battles for recognition by the William and Mary...
Dates:
1981-2015; Majority of material found in 1986-2015
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Herbert L. Ganter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 G15
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, clippings, photographs, publications, and other material collected by Herbert Ganter, W&M Class of 1927 and Archivist of the College of William & Mary from 1948-1974. Included in the collection are correspondence, photographs, and journals written by and collected by Ganter while a student at William and Mary, correspondence and clippings about information from Swem Library's holdings while Ganter was College Archivist, and correspondence...
Dates:
circa 1883-1979; Majority of material found within 1915-1965
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
The Gentlemen of the College records
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.006
Scope and Contents
The records of the College of William and Mary men's a capella group Gentlemen of the College include internal and external correspondence related to public performances; the constitution and by-laws; fliers advertising performances and auditions; a history of the group; membership lists; photographs; an extensive collection of audiovisual material documenting both live performances and studio sessions; and several scrapbooks. A portion of the collection was created to mark the group's 10th...
Dates:
1990-2023
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hamilton Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.139
Scope and Contents
Papers pertaining to the Hamilton Family of Norge, James City County, Virginia and related families. Among the formats included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, Norge High School records, church records, photographs, slides, CD-Roms, certificates, financial records, a Langley Air Force base photo album, and news clippings and ephemera. Mss. Acc. 2009.139 and 2011.520.
Dates:
1892-2003; Majority of material found in 1930-2003
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
J. Wilfred Lambert Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.067
Scope and Contents
The collection includes awards and certificates of appreciation from organizations such as the Alumni Society, Circle K, Omicron Delta Kappa; photographs of Lambert with staff and students, as well as many College events such as Commencement, Parents Day, and ROTC Summer Camp; and a copy of a Commencement program from 1927 when Lambert graduated from William and Mary with a Bachelor of Arts degree. The collection also contains a scrapbook including photographs, clippings, and other...
Dates:
1927-1986
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.126
Scope and Contents
The papers of Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels include scrapbooks, correspondence, invitations, publications, course work, and other material from her student life. Much of the material is from her time as a student at the College of William and Mary from 1937 through 1939. This covers the range of typical student activities from classes to football games to student government and other organizations. There is also some earlier material from Hopewell High School and the State Teacher's...
Dates:
1929-1953 (bulk 1929-1935); Majority of material found in 1929-1935
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Priscilla Schumacher Scrapbook, 1941-1942
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.029
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook compiled by Priscilla Schumacher from 1941-1942 while a student at William & Mary. Schumacher attended from 1940-1944. The scrapbook covers are made of wood with "William and Mary" spelled out in woodblock letters. Subjects covered include athletics, social activities, and sorority life.
Dates:
1941-1942
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Photographs 5
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
- Correspondence 4
- Programs 3
- Clippings (information artifacts) 2
- Diaries 2
- Fliers (printed matter) 2
- Negatives 2
- Sound Recordings 2
- Certificates 1
- Church records 1
- College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
- College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
- College of William and Mary--Reserve Officer Training Corps 1
- College of William and Mary--Swem Library--Richard Cornish Fund 1
- Constitutions 1
- Europe--Description and travel--20th century 1
- Fundraising campaigns 1
- Homecoming 1
- James City County (Va.)--History 1
- Lapel Pins 1
- Music 1
- Norge (Va.)--History 1
- Norwegian Americans--Virginia 1
- Printed ephemera 1
- Rosters 1
- Slides (photographs) 1
- Student Life--1940's 1
- Student Life--1960's 1
- Student Life--1970's 1
- Student Organizations 1
- Student Organizations--Circle K 1
- Sweat shirts 1
- T-shirts 1
- Video recordings 1
- Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Buildings, structures, etc.--Conservation and restoration 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Women--Diaries 1
- Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1 + ∧ less
∨ more