Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

College of William and Mary

 Organization

Found in 13 Collections and/or Records:

Berry Madison Cox Pledge to Teach Fulfillment Form

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.266
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of one form, completed by Berry Madison Cox, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

William Blackford Letter to John Tyler

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01364
Scope and Contents

Two page letter recommending a friend, Lucoian Minor, to the vacancy of the chair of the law school at William and Mary.

Karla K. Bruno Papers, 2007-2010

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.128
Scope and Contents

Material collected and created by William & Mary alumna Karla K. Bruno, ranging from 2007-2010 and related to the organizations 'Save the Wren Cross,' 'ShouldNicholBeRenewed.org,' and 'The Society for the College.' Also included are: copies of material related to the Department of Philosophy (2007), an interview with Gene Nichol on PBS's "What Matters" (January 2008; VHS tape) and a Fox News piece "Wren Cross" with Brit Hume (circa 2006-2007, VHS tapes.

Thomas Putnam Chapman, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00279
Scope and Contents

Collection of letters, cards, ephemera, and personal items belonging to Thomas Putnam Chapman, Jr. A large portion of the letters are written to his family from his time spent as a student at the College of William and Mary. Included with Thomas' letters are letters from his father and other family members. This collections is currently in processing and is not fully available to researchers. The collection guide will be updated once processing of the collection is complete.

Charter Day, 2020

 File — Box: 12, Folder: 9
Identifier: id138651
Scope and Contents

2) Programs from the 2020 William & Mary Charter Day. "327 Years of Learning and Discovery"

(3) 2020 Charter Day stickers, on one sheet

David A. Keeling Print of Wren Building

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01617
Scope and Contents

One color print of the Wren Building at the College of William and Mary created by David A. Keeling. The print was published and made available from University Artworks, Lexington, Va, signed by the artist, and numbered 318.

Letters, circa 1875-1935

 Series
Scope and Contents Consists of letters circa 1875-1935 between members of the Chapman family. Letters are organized alphabetically by creator’s first name and each creator’s letters are chronological. Letters with unknown creators are filed under their recipient, if known. Oversized letters are not organized alphabetically by creator, only chronologically. Letters were primarily written in Plattsmouth, Nebraska; Mediapolis, Iowa; Vienna, Virginia; Napanoch, New York; Washington, D.C.; and Williamsburg,...

James M. Pasteur letter to Harris Tinker, Jr.

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01653
Scope and Contents

Three-page letter addressed to his cousin in Greensboro, Alabama. Pasteur is a student at William and Mary on break and visiting family. He writes of his appreciation for having his cousin relay a message of courtship to a Miss Julia, despite the lukewarm response she wrote in return. He also lays out his plans as they pertain to his return to Williamsburg in preparation for the upcoming session.

Renick Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.308
Content Description Renick family Papers, 1899-1992. Papers of Dewey Campbell Renick (1898-1976) and his wife Fern Amelia Cooley Renick (1897-1992) of James City County, Va. Includes farm account book, newspaper clippings, obituaries, Cooley genealogy, a travel diary, photographs, correspondence as well as photocopies of official and unofficial correspondence concerning the death of their son. Dewey C. Renick, Jr., shot down over the Philippine Islands in 1945.The farm account book, ca. 1942-1962,...

Robert Michie Letter to David Watson

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.291
Content Description Two page letter from William & Mary student, Robert Michie, informing his cousin, David Watson, of the activities of the school, students, and faculty. Michie mentions the selling of Hornsby house in an eggnog fit and in sending Blue (Tom) and Lemon (enslaved persons) with notes to Tucker (St. George) regarding the legality of this transaction but his inability to immediately attend to the issue has caused them to travel to his residence to inquire about the issue. Michie also...