Skip to main content

College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 52 Collections and/or Records:

J. Reid Williamson Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.289
Scope and Contents

Theatrical poster for "Stop 13: The College of William and Mary," produced circa 1968-1969

Handmade victory banner (W&M #1 in the East), as featured in the 1967 Dec. issue of the Alumni Gazette. There is a print of the same photograph in the UA Photograph Collection [football].

DVD of Williamson's appearance on Jeopardy! in 1972. Williamson was a contestant over 5 days, and the video is approximately two hours.

Dates: 1967-1972

James Albert Doyle Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.254
Scope and Contents Included in the scrapbook are photographs, newspaper clippings, class schedules, report cards, dining hall passes, letters, dance cards, ticket stubs, announcements of events on the campus and various additional ephemera related to Doyle's time on campus.Of note are the "friendship" pages, which were completed by Doyle's friends and classmates. Each individual wrote the date, their name and hometown, their nickname and/or birthdate, their ambition, and a happy thought. There is...
Dates: circa 1921-1924

James Marino food service collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.347
Content Description

The collection contains artifacts including an Orange employee hat from Doumar's Cones & Barbecue resturant and a menu from Charlie's Cafe, both located in Norfolk, VA. The hat was worn by James Marino (class of 2013) during his 2010 employment at Doumar's as part of an Order of the White Jacket scholarship.

Dates: 2010

Kappa Kappa Gamma (Gamma Kappa Chapter) Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.075
Scope and Contents

This collection includes photographs, scrapbooks, publications, and administrative records of the Gamma Kappa Chapter of Kappa Kappa Gamma at William & Mary. Some of the material is restricted, per donor request, and is available with the permission of the Chapter President.

Dates: 1923-2014

Edmund and Carol Keiter Photograph Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.173
Scope and Contents The photographs of the William & Mary campus and people were identified by the donor and include: a group in front of the Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity house, 2 photos of a group in front of the Pi Beta sorority house, the Chemistry Society or Mortar Board, 3 photos of an unidentified event in the Sunken Garden, Wren Building, President's House, Monroe Hall Dormitory, Governor's Palace, Capitol Building, greenhouses under construction, Sorority Court including the Pi Phi house, and student...
Dates: 1934-1938

Ladies of Alpha Day for Admitted Students Quotes

 Collection — UA Small Collections Box 11
Identifier: UA 7.092
Content Description

46 yellow 5 1/4 x 5 1/4 inch cards with quotes from a survey conducted by the Ladies of Alpha. The survey asked women around campus to respond to the questions, "What does 100 years of women's co-education mean to you, and who inspires you?"

Dates: 2019

Men's and Women's Soccer Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 181.2
Scope and Contents The collection contains programs, newsletters, clippings, box scores, photographs, game footage and other material related to the College of William and Mary Men's and Women's Soccer teams from 1965 to 2022. Also included are clippings, photographs, and articles about local soccer camps and tournaments that were held at William and Mary. A majority of the material in the collection, including the long run of "soccer scrapbooks," pertains mainly to the Men's team between the years of 1965 and...
Dates: 1965-2022

Meridian Coffeehouse, June 2022 Addition, 1993 - 2021

 Collection
Scope and Contents An addition of materials to the Meridian Coffeehouse. Content warning for alcohol use, smoking, and partial nudity. Box 3 Folder one: Two signs. One with instructions on the opening and closing procedures for the Coffeehouse, and the second with instructions on how to brew coffee and tea.Folder two: Thirty-six photographs, two have writing on the back. 2004 ish (Content Warnings for alcohol, smoking, partial nudity)Folder three: Forty-two advertisement...
Dates: 1993 - 2021

Phi Alpha (Tau Chapter) Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.015
Scope and Contents

The collection includes one scrapbook containing newspaper clippings about the fraternity and its members, some correspondence, photographs of the fraternity house, and photographs of members, some of whom were in the movie "The Howards of Virginia." The collection also includes the certificate officially establishing the Tau Chapter at William & Mary.

Dates: 1927, 1933-1941

Powhatan Robertson Journal

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.236
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a journal kept by Robertson while a student at William & Mary in 1816. He mentions engaging in social activities within town, places within town such as the "Old Capitol," and sometimes refers to lectures. He frequently writes about women.

A transcription of this journal was published in the William & Mary Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan.,1931), pp. 61-68. A typed transcription is included with the original.

Dates: 1816

Psi Upsilon Fliers and Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.071
Scope and Contents

Contains composite photographs and event fliers from the Psi Upsilon fraternity at William & Mary.

Dates: circa 1982-2004

Sage Futrell papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.336
Content Description This collection contains an award speech, and one mixed media artwork titled "Janus." The work was created by Sage Futrell (they/she) in 2023. The proposal for "Janus" was among three artworks to received the first Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Program (GSWS) Creative Arts Award. On March 7th, 2023, the three artists presented their finished works along with award speeches. In their award speech, Futrell stated that "I've included many faces and voices of the past on the...
Dates: 2023

The Flat Hat records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.084
Content Description

Photographs, slides, and administrative records for The Flat Hat newspaper. Collection also includes digital media and 21 boxes of issues of the newspaper filed chronologically.

Dates: 20th century (exact date range TBD; Flat Hat first published in 1911)

"The List" Newsletters

 Collection
Identifier: UA 287
Scope and Contents

Two sets of "The List" newsletter from 2012-2013. This was a newletter specific to the Nicholson Hall residence within the Botetourt Complex.

Dates: 2012-2013

Theta Delta Chi (Epsilon Charge) Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.022
Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, fliers, a minute book, ledger, copies of the publications "The Shield" and "Epsilon Hokum," news clippings, artifacts, and a poem.

Dates: 1853-2007

George C. Tyler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T97
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1840-1863, of Doctor George C. Tyler, Accomack County, Va. Includes two letters, 1860, from his cousin George] B. Fosque writing about student life at the College of William and Mary; and accounts, 1840-1863, of Doctor George C. Tyler.

Dates: 1840-1863

Upsilon Delta Beta Memory Book and Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.094
Content Description Folder one holds a program for the Fisk Jubilee Singers at McIntire Amphitheatre, a program for the Wofford College Glee Club 1926-27 season, and thirty-one 2 x 3 1/4 inch photos that were removed from an album. Four of these photos have identifying text written on them. Folder two holds items taken from where they were sandwiched between the July 19 and August 19 pages of the Upsilon Delta Beta Memory Book. Five issues of the Flat Hat from 1922 and 1923, as well a a couple...
Dates: 1922 - 1923; 1926

Vietnamese Student Association records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.111
Content Description

This collections contains shirts, stickers designed and sold by the Vietnamese Student Association, and a poster advertising their 2023 culture show.

Dates: 2020-2024

Virginia Nittoli Matish photographs

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.344
Content Description

The Virginia Nittoli Matish photographs contains photographs of Virginia Nittoli Matish and members of the Pi Beta Phi sorority. Images include the Pi Phi house, as well as scenes of Virginia Beach and a William & Mary graduation taken place during the late 1960s and early 1970s. A description of names and locations have been provided by Matish and is included in the collection.

Dates: 1968-1970

Warner Throckmorton Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.244
Scope and Contents This collection contains two items. The first is an invitation to the "Birthnight Ball," which celebrated the birth of George Washington by a ball given the Hall of Apollo by the students of William & Mary. It is dated January 22, 1839 and includes the names of the managers. It is addressed to a Miss McDonnell (or McDornell) of Abingdon, Virginia. The second item is also an invitation to the "Birthnight Ball," for January 22, 1840. It also includes the names of...
Dates: 1839-1840

Kate Weis Graduation cap

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.322
Content Description

A black graduation cap decorated with a photo collage. A five page description lists every person present in each photo, as well as their relationship to Kate Weis.

Dates: 2021

William and Mary Risk Board Game

 Collection
Identifier: UA 68
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a William and Mary Campus Risk board game, without the pieces, created by Evin McAlister, class of 2008, while students at the College of William and Mary in the spring of 2006. The game was based on the campus as it was in 2007 as well as off-campus locations. The game is divided into six sections: Matoaka, New Campus, Jamestown, Richmond, Old Campus, and the School of Law. The game is displayed on a 20" x 30" foam poster board.

Dates: 2006

William & Mary Asian & Pacific Islander American Studies Department records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 402
Content Description A collection of papers and records created by the Asian & Pacific Islander American Studies Department (APIA).18, 11 x 8 1/2 inch flyers for events and speakers sponsored by the Asian & Pacific Islander American Studies Department (APIA) and the Reves Center for International Studies. Six brochures, 8 1/2 x 5 1/2 inches. Two of the brochures are programs for performances, "Sitayana: Journey of Womanhood," and "Sa Pagitan." Two brochures are programs for the APIA...
Dates: 2007 March 1- 2022 April 20

William & Mary Hip Hop Collection

 Series — Box 1-9
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.19
Scope and Contents Established by American Studies Ph.D. Kevin Kosanovich working in Swem Library’s Special Collections, the William & Mary Hip Hop Collection is the most comprehensive of its kind dedicated to Virginia’s hip hop culture and history from the 1980s to the present. The collection includes oral histories committed to preserving and documenting Virginia’s rich hip hop past, as well as recordings of hip hop music, publications, and ephemera created by Virginia and Virginia-based artists,...
Dates: circa 1985-2019; Majority of material found in 2012-2014

William & Mary Women's Ultimate Frisbee records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 181.20
Content Description

Collection contains scrapbooks, printed materials, photographs and other papers documenting the activities of the Ultimate Women's Frisbee Team at William & Mary. Materials within the collection document Cypress (A-team, though materials from the Woolly Mammoths (B-team) may be added to the collection at a later date. Items include a poster, signed paper plates, jersey, disc and program from Ultimate USA college championship.

Dates: Circa 1990-2020