Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Tanning--History--19th century

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:

Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Au5
Scope and Contents An extensive collection of business correspondence, financial papers, daybooks, legal papers, and account books, chiefly 1800-1850, of Col. Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh, documenting his work as tanner and justice of the peace at Bedford County, Va. The collection also includes accounts, 1832-1857, of James Oney.

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...

Jacob Rush Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad150
Scope and Contents Ledger of Jacob Rush, tanner, of Rockingham County, Virginia, 1825-1864. 137 double pages. 12 3/4 x 8 1/2.

Note:  The book also contains rough drafts of several legal papers.

See also Jacob A. Rush Papers (Mss. 39.2 R89) and [Jacob Rush?] Account Book (Mss. MsV Add151), Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary.