Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century
Found in 10 Collections and/or Records:
The collection contains letters, receipts, invoices, and account books of Thomas Croxton concerning his law practice at Tappahannock, Va. Includes accounts with J.M. Parr & Son, commission merchants of Baltimore, Md. who received grain from Croxton by ship and sold it on consignment.
Account book, 1802-1850, of John M. Martin, lawyer and merchants, of [Albemarle County ?] Va. which includes an account with the University of Virginia. Includes an index.
Papers, 1872-1901, of Judge A. K. Leake, Goochland County, Va. Many concern the settlement of the estate of Henry Timberlake and the lawsuit, Timberlake v. Timberlake. Includes two insurance policies, 1899-1900, on property in East Leake, Va.
Three letters, 1829-1841, written by Edm[und] J[ennings] Lee of Alexandria, Va. to William M. Addison, William Bent and Francis Scott Key concerning legal cases; and two letters, 1844-1849, written to William Crauch by Charles H[enry] Lee and Cassius F[rancis] Lee.
Papers, 1895-1899, of R. H. Logan, an attorney, in Salem, Va. Includes correspondence concerning his law practice.
Ledger kept by merchants, Boyd Miller and Archibald Robertson of Lynchburg, Va. Contains legal work for various individuals of Lynchburg, Va. and other areas. Included are approximately 14 entries relating to Thomas Jefferson. Many entries are Boyd Miller's attempts to collect on debts owed to William Brown & Co.
Two letters from Robert Ould to Nathaniel Beverly Tucker.
The 1868 letter, written from Richmond, Virginia, is four pages and refers to the punishment being meted out to Southern rebels, especially Jefferson Davis. (Ould was the Confederate chief of the Bureau of the Exchange of Prisoners.)
The 1877 letter is two pages and concerns Ould's son who was on trial for a shooting. Ould attended the proceedings.