Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Authors, American--20th century

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 13 Collections and/or Records:

Christopher Bram Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 99 B73
Scope and Contents The Christopher Bram papers largely encompass Bram's career as a novelist and writer but also include personal papers, audiovisual material, and artifacts. The first 12 series comprise materials relating to each of the major book length works Bram has produced during his career. Series 1 contains materials relating to Bram's first novel, which remains unpublished. Subsequent series are organized chronologically by publication date. Series 13 and 14 contain Bram's shorter works, including...

James Branch Cabell Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.003
Scope and Contents Collection concerning James Branch Cabell who was a student at the College of William and Mary, 1894-1898. Includes biographical material, pictures, essays from the American Spectator, short stories (in magazines), essays (in magazines), clippings of reviews by Cabell, reviews of works by or about Cabell, book jackets of books by or about Cabell and clippings from periodicals and newspapers concerning Cabell. The collection also includes his first novel, The Eagle's Shadow. The inventory for...

James Branch Cabell Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 C10
Scope and Contents Papers, 1919-1939, of or concerning James Branch Cabell. Includes letters, 1919-1927, from Cabell to Willard S. Morse concerning the autographing of Cabell's books; letters, 1931, of Frank C. Pape and Cabell to John D. Weaver [College of William and Mary]; and newspaper clippings concerning Cabell and Frances Newman.

James Branch Cabell Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 C11
Scope and Contents Copies of letters written by Cabell at Richmond and Poynton Lodge, Ophelia, Va. and at St. Augustine, Florida to Rawlings concerning their literary work and also concerning the author, Ellen Glasgow. Includes one letter from Cabell to Frank Daniel and one letter to Rawlings from Margaret Waller Freeman Cabell. Originals in Majorie Kinnan Rawlings Collection, Rare Book Section, University of Florida Libraries.

James Branch Cabell Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01077
Scope and Contents Letters, 1925-1934, to and from James Branch Cabell of "Dumbarton Grange," Dumbarton, Va. and Richmond, Va. and while at "Cayford Cottage," Mountain Lake, Va. Correspondents include Sydney S. Alberts (concerning Beyond Life and The White Robe), R. H. Barlow (concerning Special Delivery, Smirt, and the gift of two pewter animals), [?] Hills (concerning the negative effect of newspaper experience on writing), Allen Lucy (concerning the production by the Palo Alto Community Players of The Jewel...

James Branch Cabell Papers (IV)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.37
Scope and Contents Galley proofs of the first edition of James Branch Cabell's "Chivalry", annotated by Cabell for the second edition (1921).

Merritt Ierley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ie7
Scope and Contents The Merritt Ierley papers record his literary and musical career. Ierley is an alumnus of the College of William and Mary. His works include The Year that Tried Men's Souls, With Charity for All, Traveling the National Road, and Wondrous Contrivances. The material includes research notes, original manuscripts, critiqued manuscripts, page proofs and printed copies. The papers also include reviews and...

Dennis Loy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.023
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, diaries, publications and other material collected by Dennis Loy, a gay artist who exhibited works in the Chicagoland area and New York City. Most of the letters were written to Loy by his cousin, American writer and journalist P.J. O'Rourke, and cover such topics as poetry, politics, drugs, art, and gay culture in the 1980s. In one of his diaries, Loy wrote about his trip to India in 1975 and describes the landscape and culture. The other diary is a travel...

Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 R75
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers of Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. who was a newspaper writer and columnist and an author of books on Virginia. His personal correspondence covers his college years at Washington and Lee University; his years in the Navy during World War II; his early career while working in Richmond, Virginia and Newport News, Virginia; and his business affairs. His college and Navy letters include not only the letters he wrote home, but the letters he received from...

Molly Elliot Seawell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.36
Scope and Contents The papers of American writer Molly Elliot Seawell include personal diaries, correspondence, memoirs, photographs, news clippings, and other materials. Also included are photocopies of Seawell's business papers housed at the New York Public Library and at the Columbia University Library. The collection also contains other records from the Seawell family, mostly relating to Molly's aunt Maria Seawell Edwards, John T. Seawell and wife Isabella Josephine Brady, and Philip Hairston Seawell. The...