Scope and Contents

The collection includes fliers, catalogs, and other material created by the Africana Studies Program at the College of William and Mary. The collection also contains records concerning the Black Studies Program, from which Africana Studies grew out of.

Scope and Contents

Nadine Armstrong attended the Westview Rosenwald School which is no longer standing. Her interview was conducted in the Dunbar school now being restored. Nadine Armstrong discusses her family background, her experience as a former pupil of a Rosenwald school and the efforts to restore the schools. Nadine Armstrong details the typical day and experiences attending a Rosenwald school during segregation.

Scope and Contents

Patricia Beach is a former pupil of the Cape Charles Elementary School, a former Rosenwald school. Patricia Beach describes her life and experiences living in Cape Charles during segregation. Patricia Beach details a typical day attending a former Rosenwald School.

Scope and Contents

A report sponsored by the Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools and the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities, "Black Education in Williamsburg-James City County, 1619-1984" by Philip D. Morgan, 1985.  1 item.  76 pp.

Scope and Contents

Negative photostats of papers, 1730-1817, of the Bray Associates, a division of the Society of the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, which was instrumental in providing libraries for the churches in America and setting up schools for the Christian education of free and enslaved Black children.

Scope and Contents College scrapbook, 1931-1945, kept by Clarice Peterson Thompson at Virginia State College, Petersburg, Virginia. She entered information on festivities, outings, and plays attended in the pre-printed volume "Memories of My School Days."  Several pages are taken up by names and addresses of classmates, as well as their entries and messages dedicated to her.In addition to congratulation cards glued into the volume, there are also a few loose items like news clippings, cards, and a...

Scope and Contents

Dianne Davis is a former pupil of the Cape Charles Elementary School, a former Rosenwald Schools. Dianne Davis recounts her time as a pupil attending Cape Charles Elementary School, a segregated school funded by Julius Rosenwald and created by Booker T. Washington. Dianne discusses the typical day attending a Rosenwald school and her hopes for the restoration of the school.

Scope and Contents

Photographs taken by George Oscar Ferguson. Subjects include a parade in Williamsburg, Va., African-American schools in Virginia, Camp Lee, Virginia, rural scenes in western Virginia, and Ferguson.

Scope and Contents

Mary Anne Fletcher is a former pupil of the Bena Hayes Rosenwald school in Bena, VA. Mary Anne Fletcher describes her experiences attending a former Rosenwald school, a typical day in the classroom and her family background. Mary Anne Fletcher discusses her experiences as a Rosenwald student and her hopes for the restored Woodville school.

Scope and Contents Diary of an unidentified employee of the Freedmen's Bureau, who was working near Norfolk and Fort Monroe, Virginia, from October 9, 1865-November 29, 1865.A few highlights from the diary include the following: On October 13th, the writer is writing from the Tyler House at Fortress Monroe, Virginia. He describes his ocean voyage and areas that he visits, including Norfolk and Fort Monroe, giving his opinions on some topics. His job is teaching three classes at the Butler School. ...

Scope and Contents

Record book, 1901-1903, of John H. Harvey, a teacher in Bon Brook Public School No. 4, a black school in Cumberland County, Virginia.

Scope and Contents

Deloris Hicks is a former pupil of Campbell County and Evington Elementary Schools. Deloris Hicks describes a typical day attending a former Rosenwald school, her family background and community efforts to restore the Rosenwald schools in Virginia. Deloris Hicks recounts her time as a student attending a Rosenwald school during segregation in Virginia.

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of letters from supervisors or sponsors to Minnie A. Hill, a northern female teacher, who was in Norfolk and then Petersburg, Virginia teaching at freedmen’s schools in the late 1860s.

Scope and Contents

Frank James is a former pupil of the Campbell County Elementary School. Frank James describes his experiences attending a Virginia Rosenwald School during segregation. He discusses his family background, the typical day at a school and the community response to the school and the efforts to restore it. Frank James describes his experience attending a Rosenwald School in Virginia.

Content Description

Two autograph albums belonging to Lillian V. Randolph with entries from relatives as well as students and teachers at Armstrong High School in Richmond, Virginia. Both albums include photographs.

Scope and Contents Photostatic copy of "Life in Virginia by a Yankee Teacher", an account by a missionary school teacher, Margaret Newbold Thorpe, who taught black students at Fort Magruder and in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1866-1867. Photostatic copy of "Life in North Carolina," September 1869-1870, an account written by Margaret Newbold Thorpe Stokes about Warrenton, North Carolina. The accounts were apparently written in 1881 and 1907.The photostatic copies were likely made in 1951, when gifted...

Scope and Contents Geraldine Pettigrew is a former pupil of the Campbell County Elementary School, a former Rosenwald school. Geraldine Pettigrew recounts her experiences attending the Campbell County Elementary School in Rustberg Virginia during segregation. The Rosenwald School were created by Booker T. Washington and funded by Julius Rosenwald. Together they built over 4900 schools across the south to provide an education for black children. Geraldine Pettigrew describes what a typical day was like...

Scope and Contents The racial and ethnic ephemera collection contains various materials regarding race, ethnicity, and racism in the United States. The collection includes papers and items that promote racial prejudice and propaganda. The collection also contains items and papers that exemplify the fight for civil and equal rights. African Americans are the most broadly represented group in the collection. Other ethnic groups include Native Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, Muslim Americans, and...

Scope and Contents Marion Randall is a former pupil of the Bena Hayes School, a Rosenwald school. Marion Randall recalls her experiences attending the Bena Hayes (Rosenwald) school in Bena Virginia. The Rosenwald schools were funded by Julius Rosenwald and designed by Booker T. Washington. Together they created over 4900 schools across the south to aid in the education of blacks during segregation. Marion Randall discusses a typical day attending a Rosenwald school, her family background and the community...

Content Description This oral history project accompanys and is used extensively for the "A Better Life for Their Children: Julius Rosenwald, Booker T. Washington, and the 4,978 Schools that Changed America" exhibit, which will be on display in the Virginia Museum of History & Culture from May 2024 until April 2025. The exhibit and the oral history project examine the legacy of Julius Rosenwald and Booker T. Washington co-creating schools in the American South to educate Black children otherwise exluded...

Scope and Contents

Michael Scales is a former pupil of the Pine Grove School. Michael describes his experiences living in Cumberland County, attending a Rosenwald school and the efforts to restore the building. Michael describes the typical day attending school during segregation.

Scope and Contents Typed carbon copy autobiography of Lawyer Walker of Gloucester, entitled "Lawyer Walker of Gloucester (as told to two Northern friends)." There is a dedication page to Walker's wife. Carbon version used for the autobiography "The Honey-Pod Tree: The Life Story of Thomas Calhoun Walker," which was published in 1958. Includes a photograph and sheet music for "De Ole Sheep Done Know de Road." As a lawyer, he defended many African Americans in Gloucester County, Virginia, and eventually served...

Scope and Contents The bulk of the University Archives Oral History Collection consists of transcripts and recordings of oral history interviews conducted as a part of various projects at the College of William and Mary with administrators, faculty, students, and alumni. The specific projects include the College's oral history program from the 1970s, an oral history program sponsored by the University Archives beginning in the 2000s, "Stony the Road We Trod," and the Stephens Project.  The...

Scope and Contents

Charles Williams is a former pupil of the Cape Charles Elementary School. Charles Williams describes his experiences attending a Rosenwald School. He discusses his family life and his life after leaving school and his hopes for the restored building. Charles Williams details the typical day and experiences attending the Cape Charles Elementary School and the high school in Matchipongo, VA.