Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): "A. P. Hill"

Showing Results: 1 - 6 of 6

Max R. Decker Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01181
Scope and Contents Six diaries, 1930-1943 (with gaps) of Max R. Decker describing his life during the Great Depression and World War II. Decker is located in Buffalo, Kansas, but he and his brothers hop freight trains traveling through Nebraska, Colorado, Utah, Kansas and Iowa. The diaries also describe the family searching for work and camping at various locations. The family ends up in Gaither, Arkansas. Decker joined Civilian Conservation Camp # 743 in the Ozark National Forest. The final diary describes...
Dates: 1930-1943
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Photograph Collection of Military Life in Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00347
Content Description

This collection includes eighty two black and white photographs that depict American life at a military base in Virginia. Situated during the Korean War, these photographs mainly feature soldiers. However, couples, women, children, food preparation, and landscapes are also included in the collection. The collection belonged to a soldier stationed at Fort Lee and Fort A. P. Hill in Virginia in 1950. The photos were likely taken by a member of the Quartermaster Corps.

Dates: 1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Daniel Harvey Hill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01064
Scope and Contents

Letters, 28 May 1861 and 15 April and 11 May 1862, written by Daniel Harvey Hill to his wife Isabella (Morrison) Hill, describing preparations for battle at Yorktown, Va. and building fortifications over Lord Cornwallis' earthworks; the Peninsular Campaign; morale of his soldiers; and his children. Includes a printed circular, 19 April 1865, to Hill, urging soldiers not to desert during truce negotiations.

Dates: 1861-1865
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Campbell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Dates: 1726-1920
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Fort A. P. Hill, 1984

 File — Box 19: Series id29643, Folder: 8
Identifier: id30323
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Bateman Office Accession Number: 329-87-113; Boxes 12-21 or 22;

Dates: 1984
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Herbert H. Bateman Congressional Records / Series 3: Correspondence, Memoranda, Publications, Newspaper Articles, Notes / Subseries 3.04: Correspondence, Memoranda, Publications, Newspaper Articles, Notes / Box 19

A. P. Hill, Major General, C.S.A., to Capt. William S. Parran, at Somerset, Virginia, 1862 August 12

 Item — Box 7, Folder: 27
Identifier: id250606
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Dates: 1862 August 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Campbell Family Papers / Letters of William S. Parran and Family

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Type
Collection 4
Archival Record 2
 
Subject
Correspondence 2
Diaries 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
American Revolution--Veterans 1
Bounties, Military--United States 1
∨ more
Canal Zone 1
Civilian Conservation Corps (U.S.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 1
Documentary photography 1
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Great Depression 1
Invoices 1
Kentucky--Description and travel 1
Korean War, 1950-1953 1
Legal documents 1
Medicine--History--19th century 1
Military 1
Military bases--Photographs 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Pensions, Military--United States--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
Prisons--Virginia 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Reports 1
United States--History--War of 1812 1
United States. Army--Pay, allowances, etc 1
Virginia State Penitentary--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 4
 
Names
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Coleman, Emma Cornelia Parran 1
Coleman, Reuben Lindsay 1
∨ more
Graves family 1
Hill, A. P. (A. Powell) 1
Hill, Daniel Harvey, 1821-1889 1
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Magurk, M. E. 1
Parran, William S., d. 1862 1
+ ∧ less