Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): John Marshall

Showing Results: 326 - 350 of 756

Marshall, the papers of John - monthly and annual reports, 1973-1981

 File — Box 12, Folder: 5
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Materials relating to the career of Lester Jesse Cappon (September 18, 1900-August 24, 1981), historian and formerly the Archivist for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, Williamsburg, Virginia, Director of the Institute of Early American History and Culture, and Senior Research Fellow at the Newberry Library, Chicago, Illinois. Professional papers (1909-1981) include primary source material, typescripts, notes, drafts of articles, critiques, maps, and historical journals....
Dates: 1973-1981
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Lester J. Cappon Papers / Professional papers: Institute of Early American History and Culture, Annual Reports through Newberry, Newsletters

Jno. (John) H. Marshall, Mobile, Alabama, to Juliana Dorsey, 1854 November 29

 Item — Box 1: Series id163991, Folder: 2
Identifier: id164928
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Encloses a check for $1199.34; hopes the check reaches her in time; Mr. Collins is to be married this evening to Miss Gale. 2 pages. Autographed letter signed. Bears autographed letter signed from John H. Marshall, Mobile, Alabama, to Juliana Dorsey Shows the information relating to her account with Marshall & Son. 1 page.

Dates: 1854 November 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Dorsey-Coupland Papers / Series 1: Letters / Correspondence

Jno. (John) H. Marshall, Mobile, Alabama, to Juliana Dorsey, 1855 January 11

 Item — Box 1: Series id163991, Folder: 2
Identifier: id164930
Scope and Contents

Encloses a check for $119.10; discusses other monetary matters; Mollie has been sick but can now come down to her meals.1 page. Autographed letter signed.

Dates: 1855 January 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Dorsey-Coupland Papers / Series 1: Letters / Correspondence

Item 2324: The law and Chief Justice John Marshall, 1969

 Item — Map case 100, Drawer: 10
Identifier: id133394
Scope and Contents

An exhibition commemorating the 150th anniversary of M'Culloch v. Maryland and Dartmouth College v. Woodward

Dates: 1969
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / University Archives Poster Collection / Posters 2300-2350

Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1771-1835, undated

 Sub-Series
Identifier: id159296
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Original letters and copies of letters from other repositories, chiefly 1788-1835, of John Marshall's correspondence with his wife, Mary Willis (Ambler) Marshall, other family members, James Monroe, Joseph Story, Bushrod Washington, and others. The correspondence reflects Marshall's wide range in interests including law, Virginia and U. S. politics, international affairs, agriculture and social events. Also included are letters by family members and descendants; a charcoal sketch and copies...
Dates: 1771-1835, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals

Black and white facsimiles of silhouettes of John Marshall, 1825, undated

 Item — Box 5: Series id159295; Series id165530; Series id165574; Series id165596, Folder: 4
Identifier: id165581
Scope and Contents

The original of the silhouette of Marshall facing right was made in Richmond about 1825 by a French artist. It was hung at Oak Hill, was inherited by his eldest son Thomas Marshall, and is privately owned.

Dates: 1825, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 3: Prints, Engravings, and Artifacts, 1825-1937

Black and white etchings and engravings of John Marshall, Undated

 Item — Box 5: Series id159295; Series id165530; Series id165574; Series id165596, Folder: 4
Identifier: id165587
Scope and Contents

Two obviously derived from Henry Inman's 1831 portrait; one engraved by J. A. O'Neil shows Marshall in 1793 as the Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Virginia Freemasons; the last includes engravings of portraits of other U.S. Chief Justices: John Jay, Oliver Ellsworth, John Rutledge, R. B. Taney, M. R. Waite, Salmon P. Chase, and Melville W. Fuller.

Dates: Undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 3: Prints, Engravings, and Artifacts, 1825-1937

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to James Monroe, Annapolis, Maryland, 1784 January 3

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 1
Identifier: id159302
Scope and Contents Blesses George Washington who resigned his commission of 23 December 1783; will put Monroe's letter to Major John Crittenden into the hands of General George Rogers Clarke, who will be in the western country in February, and who will pay close attention to Monroe's military warrant; mentions that the Speaker John Tyler has left Richmond; laments the passage of the bill excluding Virginian delegates to Congress from serving in the Virginian legislature; "Fear of the power of Congress I have...
Dates: 1784 January 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to James Monroe, Annapolis, Maryland, 1784 February 7

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 1
Identifier: id159304
Scope and Contents

Has enclosed a bill of exchange for the one hundred dollars due Monroe as a Delegate to Congress, four dollars having been expended on his land warrant now in the hands of the Surveyor. Original is located in the James Monroe Memorial Library, Fredericksburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1784 February 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to James Monroe, Annapolis, Maryland, 1784 February 24

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 1
Identifier: id159305
Scope and Contents Claims he is unable to send money because inclement weather has hindered state tax collection; Samuel Ege and Monroe's former landlady, Mrs. Shera, are clamoring to be paid; mentions the impending marriage of "Little" John Stewart and "Kitty Hair" Catherine Hare; gossips about "artificial heat" of the courtships of Mr. Dunn and "your old acquaintance" Miss Shera, and of "Tabby" Tabitha Eppes who "has grown quite fat & buxom, her charms...renovated," and her unsuccessful suitors: Edward...
Dates: 1784 February 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to James Monroe, Annapolis, Maryland, 1784 May 15

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 1
Identifier: id159306
Scope and Contents Colonel William Grayson is not here, but Wilson Cary Nicholas is; a quorum was reached on Wednesday, May 12 and committees are being appointed; Patrick Henry arrived yesterday and is eager to have postponement of the tax collection; the Speaker John Tyler was chosen without a contest; tell Colonel John Francis Mercer that there lies £100 in the Treasury for him; John Marshall will tell Mercer's brother James in Fredericksburg the same; Major John Crittenden is again elected for Fayette...
Dates: 1784 May 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to Governeur Morris, Richmond, Virginia, 1788 June 11

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 2
Identifier: id159309
Scope and Contents

Invitation to dinner; on verso is poem "Extempore at the Convention in Virginia," written by Morris, satirizing the slowness of the proceedings of the Virginia convention called to ratify the U.S. Constitution.

Dates: 1788 June 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to Thomas Walker, Albemarle, Virginia, 1789 July 9

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 2
Identifier: id159428
Scope and Contents

Asks for Thomas Walker's account rendered to John Syme for other materials which will help him John Marshall to argue Walker's court case. Original is located in the Page Walker Manuscripts, University of Virginia Library, Charlottesville, Virginia.

Dates: 1789 July 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to Francis Walker, Albemarle, Virginia, 1793 February 23

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 2
Identifier: id159433
Scope and Contents

Advises Francis Walker to take testimony showing the value of his lands which formerly belonged to Mr. Nicholas Meriwether in preparation of his case; discusses Walker's other case against William Cabell. Original is located in the Page Walker Manuscripts, University of Virginia Library, Charlottesville, Virginia.

Dates: 1793 February 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to Charles Lee, Alexandria, Virginia, 1793 December 28

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 2
Identifier: id159434
Scope and Contents The case will probably be heard in March and Mrs. Turnbull's presence will not be material; the subjects which the testimony should point to are the fortune of Mr. Turnbull, the injury done that of Mrs. Turnbull, and the expenses she has incurred since the separation; if Charles Lee can learn that, he will prove himself useful in Alexandria. Original is located in the Collection of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, on deposit at the Virginia Historical Society,...
Dates: 1793 December 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to George Washington, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1795 August 31

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 3
Identifier: id159437
Scope and Contents

Respectfully declines the Office of Attorney General of the U.S. because of his current business in Richmond. Original is located in the RG 59, National Archives, Washington, D.C.

Dates: 1795 August 31
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to Charles Lee, Alexandria, Virginia, circa 1795 December

 Item — Box 1: Series id159295, Folder: 3
Identifier: id159438
Scope and Contents

Has transmitted to the clerk of Dumfries a transverse to the Fauquier inquest; hopes that it will be determined by means of a demurer at the next terms; discusses why he wishes this. Original is located in the Collection of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, on deposit at the Virginia Historical Society, Richmond, Virginia.

Dates: circa 1795 December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Washington, D.C., to Thomas Jefferson, Washington, D.C., 1801 March 2

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 2
Identifier: id161359
Scope and Contents

Accepts Thomas Jefferson's offer to administer the Presidential oath of office to him. Original is located in the Jefferson Papers, Library of Congress, Washington D.C.

Dates: 1801 March 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1800-1809

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia to Charles Lee, Alexandria, Virginia, 1810 May 7

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 3
Identifier: id161450
Scope and Contents Acknowledges letters of April 22, 29, and 30. Outlines patents to Virginia land. Philip Pendleton, Anderson, and Hunter involved in caveat; advises against use of treasury warrant for 1,180 acres. Colston. Decision in Hunter and Fairfax case, decided in favor of Hunter. Asks Lee's opinion as to appeal to Supreme Court; John Marshall favors appeal; sending record; Jones to be engaged as attorney to help Lee. Cause precedent for pending caveats if Supreme Court "against us," save expense; if...
Dates: 1810 May 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

James Madison, Washington, D.C., to John Marshall, Washington, D.C., 1812 October 12

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 4
Identifier: id161460
Scope and Contents

Accepts his invitation to dine with him.

Dates: 1812 October 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

James Monroe, Washington, D.C., to John Marshall, Washington, D.C., 1812 October 12

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 4
Identifier: id161461
Scope and Contents

Accepts his invitation to dine with him on Wednesday.

Dates: 1812 October 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

James Monroe, Washington D.C., to John Marshall, Washington D.C., 1817 March 1

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 5
Identifier: id163239
Scope and Contents

Asks Marshall to administer the Presidential oath to him.

Dates: 1817 March 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

John Marshall, Washington, D.C., to James Monroe, Washington, D.C., 1817 March 1

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 5
Identifier: id163240
Scope and Contents

Agrees to administer the Presidential oath of office to James Monroe. Original is located in the RG 59, National Archives, Washington, D.C.

Dates: 1817 March 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

William Wirt, Washington, D.C., to John Marshall, Washington, D.C., 1818 March

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 5
Identifier: id163244
Scope and Contents

Is unable to accept his invitation to dine with him because of his health.

Dates: 1818 March
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

William Wirt, Washington, D.C., to John Marshall, Washington, D.C., 1818 March

 Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 5
Identifier: id163245
Scope and Contents

Requests that his case before the Supreme Court be given a day's respite as the extremes of weather have incapacitated him.

Dates: 1818 March
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Special Collections Research Center 753
 
Type
Archival Record 698
Collection 50
Digital Record 5
Organization 1
Person 1
∨ more
Subject 1
+ ∧ less
 
Subject
Correspondence 30
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 10
Reports 9
Legal documents 8
Photographs 7
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 6
Financial records 6
Manuscripts (document genre) 6
College of William and Mary--Students 5
Fliers (printed matter) 5
Publications 5
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Agendas (administrative records) 4
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 4
Minutes 4
Notebooks 4
Programs 4
Receipts (financial records) 4
Scrapbooks 4
United States--Politics and Government 4
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 4
Virginia--Governors 4
Account books 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
College of William and Mary--Presidents 3
Pamphlets 3
Typescripts 3
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 3
United States--Lawyers 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Athletics 2
Certificates 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 2
College presidents 2
College presidents--Virginia 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 2
Curriculum 2
Diaries 2
Genealogy 2
Horses--Virginia 2
Memorandums 2
Practice of law--Virginia--History 2
Printed ephemera 2
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
Speeches, addresses, etc. 2
Technical reports 2
United States--Slavery 2
Universities and colleges--Administration--United States 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 2
Advertising--Lawyers--Virginia 1
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.) 1
Ambassadors--United States--18th century 1
Ambassadors--United States--19th century 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Amherst County (Va.) 1
Announcements 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Archivists 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Athletics--United States 1
Autobiographies 1
Baptists--Virginia--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Blueprints (reprographic copies) 1
Booklets 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Buildings and Grounds--Marshall-Wythe Hall 1
Buildings and Grounds--Old Dominion Hall 1
Buildings and Grounds--Taliaferro Hall 1
Bylaws 1
Charter Day 1
Class materials 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Graduate Students 1
College of William and Mary--University Development 1
College sports--United States--History--20th century 1
Comic books, strips, etc 1
Comic strips 1
Compromise of 1850 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 6th 1
Continential Congress 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Debt 1
Decedents' estates 1
Declaration of Independence 1
Design drawings 1
Diplomatic and consular service 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 91
French 1
Latin 1
 
Names
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 12
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 10
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 9
College of William and Mary. 5
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 3
∨ more
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 3
Office of the President 3
Tazewell family 3
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 3
Chappell, R. Harvey (Robert Harvey), 1926- 2
College of William and Mary 2
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of the Faculty 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 2
Miller, James Wilkinson, 1902- 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 2
Taliaferro, William Booth 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
Virginia House of Delegates 2
Virginia State Senate 2
Washington, George, 1732-1799 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 1
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
Allison White and Company 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Booth family 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
Cabell family 1
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 1
Cabell, William, 1730-1798 1
Cabell, William, Dr., 1700-1774 1
Cabell, William, b. 1759 1
Calhoun, John C. (John Caldwell), 1782-1850 1
Cappon, Lester Jesse (1900-1981) 1
Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Centenary Church 1
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 1
Childress, Cecil Marcia 1
Clayton, John M. 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of the College 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. Facilities Management Department 1
College of William and Mary. General Cooperative Committee 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the Bursar. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
College of William and Mary. Wythe Law Club 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Crawford, William S., b. 1815 1
Crawford, William S., d. 1815 1
Crippled Children's Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 1
Croghan, John, 1790-1849 1
Davie, William Richardson, 1756-1820 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Dept. of Government 1
Dept. of Sociology 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
Faculty--Meetings 1
Fairbanks, Douglas, 1909- 1
Forrest Family 1
Franklin, Benjamin, 1706-1790 1
Fry, Joshua, 1700 (ca.)-1754 1
Garrett, Robert M., 1807-1885 1
Gary Alonzo Barranger 1
Gerry, Elbridge, 1744-1814 1
Godson, Susan H. (Godson, Susan Hall), d. 2013 1
Griffin, James Lewis Corbin, 1814-1878 1
Hackley, William Randolph 1
Hall, Eugene Hedgman 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 1
Henry, Rene A., 1933- 1
Hoke, Kremer Jacob, 1878-1944 1
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 1
Howe, Henry, 1816-1893 1
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 1
Hughes, Robert William 1
John L. Hall (Ship) 1
Jones, Joseph, 1727-1805 1
Jones, Warner Throckmorton 1
+ ∧ less