Search all record types where
- keyword(s): James Monroe
Showing Results: 326 - 350 of 724
G. C. [Mme. Jeanne Campan] to James Monroe, undated
Digital Record
Identifier: MS 00053_undated_2
James Monroe Material: Correspondence re: Celebrations in honor of
File — Box 11, Folder: 6
Identifier: id154650
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The collection contains mostly personal and business correspondence of Jay Winston Johns, Jr., including papers of the Atlas Fuel Corporation of New York, New York and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Lee-Jackson Memorial, Inc.; the Virginia Trust for Historic Preservation; and "Ash Lawn," now owned by the College of William and Mary.The correspondence of Johns includes correspondence with Virginia Democratic Party figures such as Albertis S. Harrison, William M. Tuck, Mills Godwin,...
Dates:
1918-1979
James Monroe, Richmond, Virginia, to Charles Francis Mercer (Copy), 1783 March 14
File — Box 1, Folder: 2
Identifier: id297930
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1783 March 14
Bartholomew Terrasson, Paris, France, to James Monroe, Paris, France, 1796 February 20
File — Box 1, Folder: 19
Identifier: id298006
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1796 February 20
Armistead Mason, Hambourg, Germany, to James Monroe, Paris, France, 1796 October 14
File — Box 1, Folder: 23
Identifier: id298022
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1796 October 14
James Monroe, Richmond, Virginia to "Dear Sir", Benjamin Rush, 1800 June 22
File — Box 1, Folder: 26
Identifier: id298038
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1800 June 22
John Breckinridge, Fayette, Kentucky, to James Monroe, Paris, France, 1803 July 9
File — Box 1, Folder: 29
Identifier: id298050
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1803 July 9
Commission of James Monroe as Minister Plenipotentiary to Spain, 1804 October 14
File — Box 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id298058
Scope and Contents
Signed by Thomas Jefferson, President of the United States, and James Madison, Secretary of State. Oversize file.
Dates:
1804 October 14
Lord David Montague Erskine, Hampstead, England, to James Monroe, 1806
File — Box 1, Folder: 32
Identifier: id298066
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1806
The Senate of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia to James Monroe, 1807 December 30
File — Box 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id298074
Scope and Contents
Resolution signed by Robert Taylor.
Dates:
1807 December 30
Spencer Roane, Richmond, Virginia to James Monroe, Washington, D.C., 1817 December 6
File — Box 1, Folder: 47
Identifier: id298134
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1817 December 6
Richard Rush, London, England, to James Monroe, Washington, D.C., 1818 January 15
File — Box 1, Folder: 49
Identifier: id298142
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1818 January 15
Charles Yancey, Richmond, Virginia to James Monroe, Washington, D.C., 1821 October 27
File — Box 3, Folder: 8
Identifier: id298174
Scope and Contents
Oversize item.
Dates:
1821 October 27
John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia to James Monroe, Washington, D.C., 1821 November 8
File — Box 1, Folder: 55
Identifier: id298178
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1821 November 8
Samuel L. Gouverneur, Washington, D.C., to James Monroe (Copy), 1822 August 1
File — Box 1, Folder: 58
Identifier: id298194
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1822 August 1
William Robinson, Arlington House, ?, to James Monroe, Washington, D.C., 1823 November 14
File — Box 2, Folder: 9
Identifier: id298234
Scope and Contents
Item location was previously identified as Box 2, Folder 76.
Dates:
1823 November 14
John Taylor, Washington, D.C., to James Monroe, Washington, D.C., 1824 February 11
File — Box 2, Folder: 14
Identifier: id298254
Scope and Contents
Item location was previously identified as Box 2, Folder 81.
Dates:
1824 February 11
Engravings, prints, and photographs of portraits of James Monroe, undated
File — Box 3, Folder: 12
Identifier: id298442
Scope and Contents
Oversize items.
Dates:
undated
Monroe (James), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to Benjamin S. Ewell, 1870 September 14
Item — Box 2, Folder: 13, Object: 13
Identifier: id180873
Scope and Contents
Monroe will go to Tennessee to run Richard Ewell’s farm] if wages can be settled.
Dates:
1870 September 14
Monroe (James), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to Benjamin S. Ewell, 1870 September 28
Item — Box 2, Folder: 13, Object: 14
Identifier: id180874
Scope and Contents
Monroe and his sister will go to Tennessee to work for Richard Ewell.
Dates:
1870 September 28
James Monroe, Oakhill, Virginia, to Burr Powell, Middleburg, Virginia, 1829 August 10
Item — Box 1: Series id169265, Folder: 1
Identifier: id169666
Scope and Contents
Has received the results of his claim from Mr. Pleasonton and regrets the outcome, which he disagrees with; does not feel anyone is to blame.
Dates:
1829 August 10
James Monroe, Washington, D.C., to [Jopham?], 1825 January 20
Digital Record
Identifier: Mss 39.1 M75_Letter_James Monroe_1825 January 20
James Monroe, Portland Place, London, England, to Lord Spencer, 1806 July 21
File — Box 1, Folder: 31
Identifier: id298062
Scope and Contents
Including clerk's copy of L from James Monroe, Portland Place, London, England, to Lord Howick July 21, 1806.
Dates:
1806 July 21
Genet [Jeanne Louise Henriette] Campan to Monsieur James Monroe, undated
File — Box 1, Folder: 24
Identifier: id178903
Scope and Contents
2 pages on one leaf. In English. Halton loan.
Dates:
undated
James Monroe, Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, 1815 March 26
Item — Box 34: Series id216780, Folder: 2
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents
Tucker's communication last autumn to the president concerning sale by British officers in West Indies of slaves taken from fellow citizens has caused trouble. Self published fact. Opposition in England, abolition society and continental powers objecting and annoying the ministry. Admiral Cochrane at St. Mary's asks for proof. Government in unpleasant dilemma. Government can give evidence in possession at time of letter only and claim motive for not pursuing investigation had been erased by...
Dates:
1815 March 26