Search all record types where
- keyword(s): James Monroe
Showing Results: 1 - 7 of 7
Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents
Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...
Dates:
1802-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Alabama Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Al1
Scope and Contents
Papers relating to Courtland, Alabama; Huntsville, Alabama; and Lawrence County, Alabama. Includes letter, 1839 August 31, from committee of the Democratic Republicans of Courtland to Andrew Jackson inviting him to a dinner in honor of James Polk and a resolution, undated, concerning public testimonial to memory of Jackson; land grant, 1823, for land in Huntsville signed by James Monroe; and accounts of James E. Saunders.
Dates:
1823-1893
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Francis Little Collection
Collection
Identifier: SC 01294
Scope and Contents
An artificial collection of manuscripts collected by Francis Little. Includes contract, 1770, binding William Byrd III to payment of money in a case involving Robert Carter (signed by William Byrd, John Jameson, George Wythe and Thomas Walne); letter, 1812, of William Henry Harrison to Return Jonathan Meigs concerning an expedition against Tecumseh; grant, 1822, for land in Ohio signed by James Monroe; grant, 1837, for land in Ohio; and two Civil War letters.
6 items.
Dates:
1770-1864
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William K. Perrin Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents
Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...
Dates:
1732-1902; Majority of material found in 1820-1858
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Archibald Woods Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W87
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates:
1777-1846; Majority of material found in 1783-1846
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Mason Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M38
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1779-1792, from George Mason at "Gunston Hall," Fairfax Co., Va. to his son John in Bordeaux, France and to Richard Henry Lee commenting on Maryland's claim to Virginia's western lands; and a political essay, post 24 January 1791 by Mason on representation in Fairfax Co., Va. Includes papers and letters of other members of the Mason and Thomson families, in particular, Stevens Thomson Mason (his will and a letter to James Monroe on Alien and Sedition Laws), Armistead Thomson Mason...
Dates:
1706-1858
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of University Development Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 126
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1976.001: Publications materials for J.E. Morpurgo's Their Majesties' Royall Colledge, including blue line copies, page proofs, and a paper-bound copy of the book. Acc. 1980.039: Endowment fundraising letter from Cary T. Grayson, Rear Admiral, M.C. U.S. Navy, to James P. Monroe, M.I.T., soliciting building funds for the College, 23 March 1920. Acc. 1981.075: Two copies of the Campaign for the College Final Report, 1979. One copy has...
Dates:
1920-2014
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center