Search all record types where
- keyword(s): James Monroe
Showing Results: 151 - 175 of 456
Request - James Monroe, Steamboat Potomac, to Commodore James Barron, Norfolk, 1830 January 11
Item — Box 8: Series id175704, Folder: 50
Identifier: id175802
Scope and Contents
Autograph letter signed. Request that Barron send relief, for their boat is stuck on a sand bar at the Point of Shoals.
Dates:
1830 January 11
Letter - James Monroe, Washington, to Commodore James Barron, Norfolk, Virginia, 1830 January 18
Item — Box 8: Series id175704, Folder: 50
Identifier: id175804
Scope and Contents
Autograph letter signed. A letter of appreciation for Barron's "kindness and good offices."
Dates:
1830 January 18
87th Congress, 1st Session-- Memorials, etc. -- James Madison; James Monroe
File — Box 91, Drawer 57: Series id111034, Folder: 60
Identifier: id132366
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates:
1936-1971
James Monroe, Washington, D.C., to his nephew, James Monroe, United States Military Academy, West Point, New York, 1813 December 24
File — Box 1, Folder: 37
Identifier: id298094
Scope and Contents
Glad to hear of his safe arrival at West Point; family news; gives opinion, which was requested, that he should remain at school, even if not feeling well, since to make the journey home would make him even more ill, as well as the expense involved; proceeds to relate similar experiences he had at "the philosophical school" College of William and Mary when he was 16, stating that he was "altogether unqualified" and made a "very ridiculous figure," but used his vacation time to study and...
Dates:
1813 December 24
William D. Monroe, Jamaica, N.Y., to his father, James Monroe, New York City, 1836 June 25
File — Box 1, Folder: 13
Identifier: id293247
Scope and Contents
Discusses his studies and work he would have to make up to come home for the 4th of July; also mentions a Mr. Luck; would like another basket of cherries.
Dates:
1836 June 25
Request - James Monroe, Steamboat Potomac, to Commodore James Barron, Navy Yard, 1830 January 12
Item — Box 8: Series id175704, Folder: 50
Identifier: id175803
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Autograph letter signed. Written at "4 o'clock in the morning" a second appeal for relief.
Dates:
1830 January 12
87th Congress, 2nd Session-- Memorials To -- James Madison and James Monroe
File — Box 97, Drawer 60: Series id111034, Folder: 67
Identifier: id133205
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates:
1936-1971
Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, to James Monroe, 1820 May 22
File — Box 11, Folder: 1197
Identifier: id165323
Scope and Contents
Woods would like to serve as one of the commissioners to locate the National Road from Wheeling to the Mississippi.
Dates:
1820 May 22
Account of James Monroe with Littleton W. Tazewell, 1806 September 4-1807 January 4
File — Box 1, Folder: 8
Identifier: id301686
Scope and Contents
1 page. Document Signed.
Dates:
1806 September 4-1807 January 4
Thomas Jefferson, Washington, D.C., to Col. James Monroe , 1803 January 13
Item — Box 1, Folder: 7
Identifier: id301678
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe. See inventory link (below) for folder list.
Dates:
1803 January 13
James Monroe, Richmond, to Littleton Waller Tazewell, Norfolk, 1811 February 7
Item — Box 1, Folder: 10
Identifier: id301696
Scope and Contents
Attitude towards the factional strife dividing the Republican Party.
Dates:
1811 February 7
John Graham, Dept. of State, to James Monroe, 1816 September 27
Item — Box 1, Folder: 16
Identifier: id301728
Scope and Contents
Discusses business matters; letter to French minister shown to Mr. Rush who has done what Monroe promised minister. Mr. de Newville's letter left with Rush, copies will be sent to Mr. Lee; will write tomorrow to Mr. Jones, Consul at Tripoli; received letter from Mr. Shaler, all quiet in Algiers, speaks of Treaty renewal. Glad Monroe's health improved. 2 pages. Autograph Letter Signed. Typewritten Copy included.
Dates:
1816 September 27
James Monroe, Oak Hill, to [possibly Sylvanus Thayer], 1826 November 27
Item — Box 1, Folder: 29
Identifier: id301870
Scope and Contents
Regarding the government of the University of [Virginia]. On his way to meeting of the visitors. Typewritten Copy included.
Dates:
1826 November 27
James Monroe, New Rochelle, N.Y., to Mr. Halliday, 1837 November 1
File — Box 1, Folder: 15
Identifier: id293251
Scope and Contents
Forbids him to use the Monroe name in any connection with the previous incident concerning his daughter; warns him to be careful of judgements because his past misunderstandings have led him into error before.
Dates:
1837 November 1
Samuel Wilson Parker, New York, to James Monroe, 1850 January 28
File — Box 1, Folder: 28
Identifier: id293277
Scope and Contents
Writes as a constituent, expressing his opposition at prohibiting slavery and his feelings towards those who wish to prohibit it.
Dates:
1850 January 28
James Monroe Material: Correspondence with dealers, collectors, etc.
File — Box 11, Folder: 7
Identifier: id154652
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The collection contains mostly personal and business correspondence of Jay Winston Johns, Jr., including papers of the Atlas Fuel Corporation of New York, New York and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Lee-Jackson Memorial, Inc.; the Virginia Trust for Historic Preservation; and "Ash Lawn," now owned by the College of William and Mary.The correspondence of Johns includes correspondence with Virginia Democratic Party figures such as Albertis S. Harrison, William M. Tuck, Mills Godwin,...
Dates:
1918-1979
John Francis Mercer to James Monroe, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1786 December
File — Box 1, Folder: 6
Identifier: id297950
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1786 December
James Monroe, London, England, to Joel Barlow (Copy), 1803 August 21
File — Box 1, Folder: 30
Identifier: id298054
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1803 August 21
Major Pierce Butler, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to James Monroe, 1816 March 30
File — Box 1, Folder: 44
Identifier: id298122
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection contains correspondence from 1783-1831, of James Monroe written from Richmond, Virginia while serving time as governor, Paris while minister to France, London while minister to Great Britain, from Washington, D. C. while Secretary of State, Secretary of War, and from Loudoun County, Virginia after serving as President. Also included is a penciled sketch of Monroe by John Vanderlyn. Subjects covered in the collection include diplomatic service, education (advice to his nephew),...
Dates:
1816 March 30
James Monroe, Washington, D.C., to Samuel L. Gouverneur, 1824 June 1
File — Box 2, Folder: 16
Identifier: id298262
Scope and Contents
Encloses a letter to his wife, Maria (Monroe) Gouverneur, from her mother, who is quite ill; was to leave for Loudoun County, Virginia but postponed the trip until the final report from the committee studying the question between Governor Ninian Edwards and Mr. William H. Crawford comes forth; will be moving up there, where Samuel's aunt, Eliza (Kortright) Monroe will remain; hopes that he, Maria, and the two children will visit this summer; granted a pardon to Perry concerning a piracy...
Dates:
1824 June 1
Le general D'Ambrugeac, Paris, France, to James Monroe, 1825 September 8
File — Box 2, Folder: 31
Identifier: id298322
Scope and Contents
Item location was previously identified as Box 2, Folder 98.
Dates:
1825 September 8
John C. Calhoun, Washington, D.C., to James Monroe, 1830 February 21
File — Box 2, Folder: 50
Identifier: id298406
Scope and Contents
Item location was previously identified as Box 2, Folder 119.
Dates:
1830 February 21
Pencil sketch of James Monroe by John Vanderlyn, undated
File — Box 2, Folder: 58
Identifier: id298446
Scope and Contents
By John Vanderlyn. Item location was previously identified as Box 2, Folder 129.
Dates:
undated
Marquis de Lafayette, Paris, to James Monroe (photostat), 1824 May 10
Item — Box 1, Folder: 26
Identifier: id301844
Scope and Contents
Accepting invitation to be "Nation Guest" in 1824. 1 page. Photostat.
Dates:
1824 May 10
Item 4: James Monroe, Philadelphia, Pa. (newspaper clipping), 1794-01-27
Item
Scope and Contents
From the File:
Item 1: John Marshall, Richmond, Va., May 28 1790
Item 2: John Breckinridge, "at home", February 14 1792
Item 3: Henry Lee, Richmond, Va., March 30 1792
Item 4: James Monroe, Philadelphia, Pa., January 27 1794
Item 5: John Marshall, Richmond, Va., March 27 1794
Item 6: Thomas Jefferson, "Monticello," [Charlottesville, Va.]., October 30 1794
Item 7: Thomas Jefferson, "Monticello," [Charlottesville, Va.]., December 2 1794
Item 8: Thomas Jefferson, "Monticello," [Charlottesville, Va.].,...
Dates:
1794-01-27