Box 8, 1828-1831
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and papers of Commodore James Barron relating to his career in the United States Navy, and especially relating to The Chesapeake-Leopard Affair in 1807 and to his duel with Stephen Decatur. Collection includes photocopies of patents issued to Barron for his inventions and a typescript of William Oliver Stevens' An Affair of Honor, a biography of Barron. Correspondents include John Adams, Jesse Duncan Elliott, Andrew Jackson, Thomas Jefferson, Amos Kendall, Duff Green and Abel P. Upshur. 753 items.
Two Additions:
Mss. 87 B28 (Acc. 1987.29)
Archives of the Chesapeake-Leopard Affair, 1807-1808. 300 pages of correspondence, attorneys' interrogations, court testimony of court material of Commodore James Barron. Rough drafts of published material, and some material not published.
Mss. Acc. 1999.44
ALS from Thomas Truxton, Norfolk, Virginia, to Capt. James Sever, 26 April 1800 regarding sending the Chesapeake (ship) to sea. Mention of James Barron Sever is to turn over his crew to the Chesapeake, Chesapeake heading towards Craney Island, court of inquiry no hinderance to "this business".
Dates
- Creation: 1828-1831
Creator
- From the Collection: Barron, James, 1769-1851 (Person)
- From the Collection: Adams, John, 1735-1826 (Person)
- From the Collection: Elliott, Jesse Duncan, 1782-1845 (Person)
- From the Collection: Green, Duff, 1791-1875 (Person)
- From the Collection: Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 (Person)
- From the Collection: Kendall, Amos, 1789-1869 (Person)
- From the Collection: Stevens, William Oliver, 1878-1955 (Person)
- From the Collection: Upshur, A. P. (Abel Parker), 1790-1844 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 7.52 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository