Search all record types where
- keyword(s): George Wythe
Showing Results: 1 - 3 of 3
George Wythe Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00600
Scope and Contents
Manuscript in the hand of and signed by George Wythe, giving legal advice to the recipient who purchased land from John Twitty, the title which could be subject to the payment of a judgment recovered by the King against Twitty in a case before the General Court. If John Twitty will not recant the bonds for payment of the purchase money, Wythe advises the recipient not to pay the money until the suit is ended or until he can be assured he will not be evicted. October 13, 1774....
Dates:
1774 October 13, 1801 January 26
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Littlebury Mason Law License
Collection
Identifier: SC 00927
Scope and Contents
License for Littlebury Mason to practice law in the county courts of Virginia, signed by George Wythe and John Randolph. James City County Court. June 10, 1775.
Two letters written by Oscar Shewmake, professor in the Marshall-Wythe School of Government and Citizenship, to Carrie B. Mason and John Y. Mason thanking Miss Mason for depositing the law license of Littlebury Mason to the College of William and Mary.
Dates:
1775 June 10
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center