- keyword(s): George Wythe
Showing Results: 1 - 15 of 15
George Wythe Collection
George Wythe Papers
Marshall-Wythe School of Law Taxation Degree Records, 1963-1990
This collection contains the records of the LL.M. degree in Taxation offered by the Marshall-Whythe School of Law. It includes brochures, enrollment statistics (1984-1990), correspondence about the program's founding and closing, and curriculum comparisons.
More digital material related to The William & Mary Law School may be found in the William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository.
John Marshall Bicentennial Celebration Collection
This collection includes correspondence, speeches, invitations, and other materials relating to the College of William and Mary's celebration of the 200th anniversary of John Marshall's birth.
More digital material related to The William & Mary Law School may be found in the William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository.
Mrs. Wayne Chatfield-Taylor Collection
Collection of legal papers chiefly of Wythe and Warwick counties, Virginia. Includes papers of George Blow, Jr.; letters, 1842-1853, concerning the legal practice of Peter F. Schlecker; resolutions, 1860 July 28, passed by the Board of Trade of Norfolk, Virginia; and deed, 1831, to land in Wythe County, Virginia from Joseph F. White to Elisha D. Payne. Some legal documents concern grain mills.
Francis Little Collection
An artificial collection of manuscripts collected by Francis Little. Includes contract, 1770, binding William Byrd III to payment of money in a case involving Robert Carter (signed by William Byrd, John Jameson, George Wythe and Thomas Walne); letter, 1812, of William Henry Harrison to Return Jonathan Meigs concerning an expedition against Tecumseh; grant, 1822, for land in Ohio signed by James Monroe; grant, 1837, for land in Ohio; and two Civil War letters.
6 items.
Edmund Randolph Letter Regarding Finances
Letter, 21 Feb. 1780, of Edmund Randolph, Williamsburg, Va. to unidentified recipient. Letter concerns a suit to collect the principle and interest of a bond. Also mentions Mr. Hunter, West, Peyton, and [George] Wythe.
G. Walter Mapp Papers
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II)
Office of the President. Paul R. Verkuil Records
This collection is composed of files from the College of William and Mary Office of the President during the administration of Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)
Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia: Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888), J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).
Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records
The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.
In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.
John Brown Letter to James Brown
One letter from John Brown of Philadelphia to his brother, James Brown. The letter concerns life in the military. Brown describes the conduct of Benjamin Logan, Colonel of the Kentucky County, Virginia militia, the sale of Brown's property on Potts Creek in Virginia, and the possible resignation of General Arthur St. Clair from the army.
Virginia Counties Collection
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.