Search all record types where
- keyword(s): George Washington
Showing Results: 1 - 6 of 6
Southall Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 So8
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Southall family of Williamsburg, Va. including correspondence, 1828-1830, of Peyton Alexander Southall but mostly comprised of the legal correspondence, 1831-1851, of George Washington Southall and documents concerning lawsuits and civil proceedings in many Virginia counties and including account books, 1832-1846, of George Washington Southall. Prominent correspondents include Lemuel Jackson Bowden, Richard Coke, John Augustine Deneufville, Thomas Roderick Dew, George Frederick...
Dates:
1807-1904
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tucker-Coleman Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents
Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Dates:
1664-1945; Majority of material found in 1770-1907
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Edmund Randolph Letter Regarding Finances
Collection
Identifier: SC 00974
Scope and Contents
Letter, 21 Feb. 1780, of Edmund Randolph, Williamsburg, Va. to unidentified recipient. Letter concerns a suit to collect the principle and interest of a bond. Also mentions Mr. Hunter, West, Peyton, and [George] Wythe.
Dates:
1780 February 21
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents
These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...
Dates:
circa 1870s-2000s; Majority of material found in 1940-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Pulaski Club Records
Collection
Identifier: MS 00097
Content Description
Records of the Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, a men's social club, named in honor of Count Pulaski of American Revolutionary War fame. Includes minutes, correspondence, photographs, poetry, stationery and clippings. Two letters by John D. Rockefeller are included.
Dates:
1877-2014
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center