Search all record types where
- keyword(s): Football
Showing Results: 1 - 7 of 7
R. Wayne Kernodle Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.044
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1999.028: This collection contains copies of published articles by Professor Wayne Kernodle and others; book reviews; Marshall-Wythe Symposium correspondence; files about the athletic department scandal (1951); Sociology Department papers; Eastern State Hospital papers; the Hampton Roads Peninsula World War II study; correspondence between Kernodle and department members, College officials, and scholars at other institutions; and correspondence with William and Mary alum John Bell...
Dates:
1940-1960
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Withers World War II Posters
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.272
Scope and Contents
Posters featuring works illustrated by George Withers while an artist at the European Theater of Operations in Paris, France during World War II. Includes the first page of a letter home to his wife Virginia, Victory in Europe (V-E) Day in Paris, liberated Paris in the summer of 1945, and the Cirque de Paris. There are also two commercial illustrations by George Withers which include a movie poster and a drawing of Walt Whitman's birthplace on Long Island.
Dates:
1944-1946 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George S. Hochberg Letters
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.490
Scope and Contents
Approximately eighty letters, written from 1944 to 1945, received by George S. Hochberg, of East Orange, New Jersey, primarily during his officer training in the Marine Corps at Parris Island, South Carolina and Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Before joining the Marine Corps, Hochberg was a student at Yale College in New Haven, Connecticut. This collection includes letters from George Hochberg's parents, Rose and Benjamin Hochberg, in New Jersey and brother Jerry in the Pacific, as well as...
Dates:
1944 - 1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Alumni Association Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 80
Scope and Contents
The records of the Alumni Association of the College of William and Mary include office files, material from select Executive Secretaries, meeting minutes, publications, correspondence, and other material documenting the activities of the William & Mary Alumni Association as well as the College of William & Mary's history and alumni more generally.
Dates:
1833-2014; Majority of material found in 1950-2005
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. John Edwin Pomfret Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.11
Scope and Contents
Due to the fragility of this collection, patrons must use the microfilm copy. The microfilm and microfilm readers can be found on the 1st floor of Swem Library (call number LD6051 .W517 1942 P66, reels 1-28). Acc. 1982.055: Records of College President John E. Pomfret (1942-1951). For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventory available here. The...
Dates:
1942-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
University Archives Audiovisual Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 58
Scope and Contents
The University Archives Audiovisual Collection is an artificial collection of various audio and visual formats documenting the College of William and Mary campus, events, people, etc. The collection contains analog, magnetic, and digital media and while not comprehensive, it does include material from a variety of time periods and types of events including commencements, Charter Day, building dedications, lecture series, Raft Debates, visiting scholars and distinguished guests, athletic...
Dates:
1930-2015; Majority of material found in 1985-2005
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates:
1893-1973
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center