Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 14

Armistead Shelton Letter Regarding a Fight Between Two Men Enslaved

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 125, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01785
Content Description Letter from Armistead Shelton to Virginia plantation owner Alan Womack concerning a dispute between a Shadrack, a man enslaved by Womack, and George, a man enslaved by Shelton. Part of the letter reads, "Shadrack and my George fout last Wednesday Morning, for which I think they both ought to be corrected as we cannot tell where it may end. I wish therefore your opinion in the case, you will please send me a line by... your opinion and what to do. I do not wish to part a Man and...

Barker-Cooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B24
Scope and Contents

Letters and business papers, chiefly 1848-1866, of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Virginia and the Barker family of Fluvanna County, Virginia. Includes letters relating to the hiring out of slaves, plantation operations and the Civil War. Civil War letters are between John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of the 18th Virginia Regiment of the Confederate army concerning the Battle of First Bull Run/Manassas.

Richard Blow Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B625
Scope and Contents Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...

Carter Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...

James Galt Diary, 1835-1844

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D10
Scope and Contents

Diary of James Galt, of "Point of Fork," Fluvanna County, Virginia which concerns farm management on several plantations, activities of himself and his family and includes lists of clothing given out to slaves (slaves listed by family group) and includes an incident concerning the alleged poisoning of slaves (entry for 18 January 1839.)

M.E. Griffin Letter

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 124, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01765
Content Description A letter from M. (possibly Margaret) E. Griffin to her cousin John Davis. In the letter, Griffin asks Davis to hire out or sell all of the enslaved people working on the plantation she inherited. She mentions that an enslaved man by the name of Henry struck her son Jordan, and left the plantation to go to Lynchburg without permission. Griffin states that Henry has been "increasing in insolence, till his presence can no longer be endured."Content warning for derogatory language...

Catesby Jones Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af6
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1767-1845, of Catesby Jones, of "Marlfield," Gloucester County, Va. Includes information on Robert Yates, a student at the College of William and Mary in 1827.

Eliza Jones Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af7
Scope and Contents

Kept by Eliza Jones of "Concord," Gloucester Co., Va. containing household and farm accounts, 1831-1843. Includes names of slaves and clothing purchased for them. 93 p. : bound volume ; 16 cm.

Dangerfield Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L58
Scope and Contents Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dangerfield Lewis of "Marmion" and "Chatterton," King George County, Northern Neck, Virginia. His correspondence concerns plantation management. The collection includes account books, 1821-1829 as well as agreements with overseers, bonds for the hiring of slaves and papers concerning runaway slaves. Also includes accounts, 1816-1846, of his father George Lewis, son of Col. Fielding Lewis and Betty Washington (sister of George Washington). There is a...

William K. Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Plantation life X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 7
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Financial records 5
Plantation life--Virginia 5
Legal documents 4
∨ more
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 4
Account books 3
Diaries 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Plantation life--Southern States--History--19th century 3
Plantations 3
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 3
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 2
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Plantation life 2
Slavery--Southern States--History 2
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 2
Women--Southern States--History 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
African Americans 1
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Alaska--Description and travel--20th century 1
Banks and banking--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Bunker Hill Monument (Boston, Mass.)--History. 1
Canals--Southern States 1
Chatterton (King George County, Va.) 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 18th 1
Creek Indians 1
Dismal Swamp Canal 1
Dueling 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Editorials 1
Embargo, 1807-1809 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fugitive slaves--Virginia 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Greensville County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Horse racing--Virginia 1
Horses--North Carolina 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Indentures 1
Indians of North America--Virginia 1
Invoices 1
Lawyers--Virginia--History 1
Lynchburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Marlfield (Gloucester County, Va.) 1
Marmion (King George County, Va.) 1
Marriage records 1
Memoranda Books 1
Menokin (Richmond County, Va.) 1
Merchants--Great Britain 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--18th century 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Nansemond County 1
Merchants--Virginia--Petersburg 1
Merchants--Virginia--Sussex County 1
Merchants--West Indies 1
Photographs 1
Plantation life--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Plantations--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Powhatan County (Va.) 1
Presidents' spouses--United States 1
Presidents--United States--Election 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 1
Slavery--United States--History--19th century 1
Tobacco--Southern States--History--18th century 1
Tobacco--Virginia--History--18th century 1
United States--Alaska--History 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--History--War of 1812 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
United States--Politics and government--1815-1861 1
Virginia--Cotton Farms--19th century 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 1
Whiskey Rebellion, Pa., 1794 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Women--United States--History--19th century 1
Women--Virginia--History 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
∧ less
 
Names
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
Barker Family 1
Barker family 1
Barker, John H 1
Barker, John H. 1