Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11

President Chester A. Arthur Signature

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00171
Scope and Contents

Bottom portion of a document with the seal of the United States and the signatures of John Davis, Acting Secretary of State and President Chester A. Arthur.  September 28, 1883.

Dates: 1883 September 28

Henry Ward Beecher Manuscript

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01263
Scope and Contents

Manuscript draft, dated October 30, 1864, written by Henry Ward Beecher comparing Abraham Lincoln to Wendell Phillips, being particularly praiseworthy of Phillips. Typescript included.

Dates: 1864 October 30

Schuyler Otis Bland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B61
Scope and Contents Chiefly office files and personal correspondence, 1918-1950, of S. O. Bland while serving as member of U. S. Congress from First Virginia District. Collection includes newspaper clippings on topical and geographical areas of interest to Bland, speeches and talks given by Bland as Congressman, and general papers and personal working files he maintained. Included in the general papers is Bland's voting record. As a representative of the First District, Bland focused a significant...
Dates: 1862-1950

President Grover Cleveland Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00229
Scope and Contents Collection of Grover Cleveland items given and collected by Flora A. Darling.  Includes a letter from Mrs. Frances F. Cleveland, Lakewood, New Jersey, to Mrs. Augustus Ramon Salas declining the Presidency of the United States Daughters [of 1812], May 11, 1892.  August 27, 1887 document with the Presidental Seal and signature of Glover Cleveland, President.  Typed black bordered announcement of the death of Hon. Glover Cleveland, "A Proclamation by the President of the United States [Theodore...
Dates: 1887, 1892, 1908

Rene A. Henry papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.082
Scope and Contents

The collection includes the personal and professional papers of Rene A. Henry including a number of photographs, correspondence, scrapbooks, press releases, and publications that pertain to his life and career in sports marketing, public relations, housing, construction, television, entertainment, association management, and government service. The collection also holds materials from the 1988 presidential campaign of George H. W. Bush and Dan Quayle.

Dates: 1953-2015

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Press Conference Typescripts

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.470
Content Description

Contains four copies of press conference typescripts of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, President of the United States, during his first year in office. Most of the press conferences deal primarily with the economy of the United States, including public works projects, the banking system, and the reorganization of government. Each copy of the typescripts is 658 pages long.

Dates: Other: 1933 March-December

Russell Wheeler papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00379
Content Description

Collection contains papers, circa 1974-1976 related to the work of Russel Wheeler as a Supreme Court Fellow and Research Associate in the Office of the Administrative Assistant to Chief Justice Warren E. Burger. Collection contains memoranda, speech drafts, and draft notes.

Dates: 1974-1976

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates: 1716-1946

John Tyler, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 T97
Scope and Contents Series 1: Group A, Acc. 78 T97 and 1992.63:  Papers, 1856-1895, of John Tyler, Jr., post Civil War Republican Party activist. Subjects covered by the collection include alcoholism, Republican Party politics, Presidential elections, political patronage, Reconstruction, Methodist Episcopal Church, Florida, Braxton Bragg, and the Fenian Brotherhood. Prominent correspondents include Charles Francis Adams, Chester Alan Arthur, Pierre G. T. Beauregard, James Gillespie Blaine, James Buchanan,...
Dates: 1800-1928

John Tyler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T975
Scope and Contents Papers, 1840-1931, relating to John Tyler. Includes document, 1842, signed by Tyler; campaign ribbon, 1840, for William Henry Harrison and Tyler; speech, 1915, by Armistead Churchill Gordon at the dedication of monument to Tyler in Richmond, Va.; program, 1931, at the unveiling of Tyler Bust in Virginia State Capitol; and engravings, prints, photographs of portraits and copies of a silhouette of Tyler. Photocopy of a letter from J. Tyler, Sherwood Forest to John Tyler, his son...
Dates: 1840-1931

George Washington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 W25
Scope and Contents Photostats, typescripts, original and printed copies of letters and papers of and about George Washington, Martha Washington and Mary Ball Washington; manuscript of "The Washingtons of Sulgrave" by S. H. Lee Washington; portrait engravings and prints of George Washington and places and events associated with him, including an original pen and ink sketch [ca. 1790] by Benjamin H. Latrobe; a piece of sheet music written in honor of George Washington by George M. Cohan; and various maps....
Dates: 1755-1932

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--Presidents X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 5
Photographs 4
Financial records 2
Invitations 2
Legal documents 2
∨ more
Letters (correspondence) 2
Patronage, Political--United States--History 2
Programs 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
Account books 1
Alcoholism--United States--19th century 1
Athletics 1
Athletics--United States 1
Buildings and Grounds--Old Dominion Hall 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Comic books, strips, etc 1
Comic strips 1
Diaries 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Elections--United States--History 1
Fenians 1
Fishing--Virginia 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Fraternities--Social 1
Great Depression 1
History of the Supreme Court of the United States 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Merchant marine--United States 1
Motion picture authorship 1
New Deal, 1933-1939 1
Newspapers 1
Pamphlets 1
Photocopies 1
Political Campaigns—United States 1
Politics 1
Prohibition--United States--History 1
Public works -- United States 1
Real estate management 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Regalia 1
Scrapbooks 1
Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Southampton County (Va.)--History 1
Speeches 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
Typescripts 1
United States--Economic history 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--History--War of 1812 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1
Virginia--Politics and government--20th century 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
signatures (names) 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Tyler Family 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1