Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

A. Willis Robertson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Munford Tuck Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

United States Federal Nineteenth Century Government Publications

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.204
Scope and Contents Government publications printed by the U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) and others from the 1820s-1890s. The formats include legislation, annual reports, histories, speeches, resolutions, reports, rebuttals and more. Topics include abolition of slavery, Mexican War, information and reports about the Civil War, Army register for 1858, annual reports for railroads and banks, historical paper on Christ Church in Norfolk, Virginia (1878), Governor Pierpoint's address to "People of...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Timothy E. Wetmore Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.143
Scope and Contents This collection includes letters, addresses, compositions, and other material pertaining to Timothy E. Wetmore, a teacher and labor union activist in Wilson, New York. Although the bulk of the material is of a personal nature, there is also material related to the founding of Chapter 67 of the Mechanics' Mutual Protection Association in Wilson, New York, which was founded by Wetmore. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include politics and Henry Clay, local life in and around Wilson,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Reports X
  • Subject: United States--Politics and Government X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Reports 5
Agendas (administrative records) 4
Correspondence 4
Financial records 4
United States--Politics and Government 4
∨ more
Legal documents 3
Speeches 3
Virginia--Politics and Government 3
Communism--Post 1945 2
Maps 2
Photographs 2
Technical reports 2
Agriculture--United States 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Animal welfare--United States 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Bylaws 1
Capital punishment--Virginia 1
Civil service--United States 1
Class materials 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Communism--United States 1
Diaries 1
Education--New York (State) 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Energy policy--Virginia 1
Fish trade--Virginia 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Intergovernmental fiscal relations--United States 1
Invitations 1
Invoices 1
Labor unions--United States--19th century 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Mexican War, 1846-1848 1
Minutes 1
National parks and reserves--Law and legislation 1
National parks and reserves--United States 1
National parks and reserves--Virginia 1
New York (State)--Description and travel 1
New York (State)--Social life and customs--19th century 1
Newport News (Va.)--History 1
Petitions 1
Press releases 1
Prison sentences--United States 1
Programs 1
Public welfare--Virginia--History 1
Publications 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Resolutions (administrative records) 1
Segregation in education--Virginia 1
Shellfish trade--Virginia 1
Slavery--United States--History--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Sound Recordings 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
Taxation--United States 1
Transportation--Virginia 1
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States -- Politics and government -- 19th century 1
United States--Economic history 1
United States--History--19th century 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--Politics and government--1845-1861 1
United States--Slavery 1
United States. Congress. House. Committee on Un-American Activities 1
Vertical Files 1
Video recordings 1
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--Governors 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--20th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1
Wildlife conservation--United States 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
United States Congress 3
Virginia State Senate 3
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
∨ more
Booth family 1
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 1
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 1
Longwood University 1
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company 1
Order of the Mechanics’ Mutual Protection 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Robb, Charles S. 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Todd family 1
Tuck, William Munford 1
United States. Government Printing Office. Office of the Public Printer 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
∧ less