Showing Collections: 1 - 14 of 14
Official military papers of Colonel Glen L. Shivel including congratulatory correspondence, citations, official awards, certificates, and his retirement records. Some records contain personal information and are closed to researchers at this time. Shivel also served as assistant professor at the College of William and Mary from 1966- 1970.
The papers of George K. Dakin concern his service in the Richmond, Virginia area during the Civil War. Dakin served in voluntary military service in the 1st New Hampshire Battery, from Manchester, New Hampshire, during the Civil War. The collection contains several Muster Rolls (in and out), certificates of promotions, official discharges, and a report written by Dakin's superior, F. M. Edgell, about certain operations of the 1st New Hampshire Battery.
Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings. The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.
An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's. Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere. Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment. Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853. Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.
Papers of "U.S.S. Attala" with W.S.G. Davis the Commanding Officer. Appear to be stationed in or near Pearl Harbor. Contains memos with commands, usually signed by N. M. Brown, Lieutenant of the United States Navy Reserve, newsletter entitled "The Attala X-Ray," and "Plan of the Day" for days in 1945-1946. Includes typed carbon copy of August 11, 1945 notice received from WVTK Armed Services Radio Station Leyte, Philippines about the terms of the Japanese surrender proposal.
Notes and accounts, 1776-1780 and n.d., concerning the service of Henry Waring, Thomas Waring and William Waring, brothers from Essex Co., Va. in the American Revolution. Includes payroll account for a detachment of the 7th Virginia Regiment; an inventory of the estate of Captain Henry Waring; enlistment record [during the American Revolution ?] giving men's names, heights, and complexion; commissions and allegiance oath of Henry Waring.
Broadside order written in Williamsburg by Brigadier General George Weedon on 6 April 1781, ordering Moss Armistead and John Slaughter to Portsmouth, Virginia to apply to the commanding officer of the British Army for exchange of prisoners and liberation of slaves.