Mexican-American War Collection
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
General Order No.87, Vera Cruz, April 1, 1847: ordering preventative measures to insure martial law stops atrocities committed such as killing cattle and seizing private property. Written in English.
Sello Seto. De Ofico. Legal form for criminal cases. 1846-47.
Projecto...Project about organization, operations and interesting points for the expeditionary army in Texas. Sent to the Governor General.
Suggestions for how the Mexican forces in Texas should be organized and operate. 17 pages. Undated. Written in Spanish.
"El General en Gefre de los Egercitos de los Estados-Unidos de America, A La Nacion Megicana!" Broadside from Winfield Scott, Commanding General of the United States of America, to the Mexican Nation. May 11, 1847. He tells them that they (Mexican People) were let down by their generals, that America devine nothing more than peace and friendship with Mexico, that the U.S. Army hasn't taken property, damaged churches, taken advantage of women, etc. At the end, he warns that if guerrillas do form groups and attack, the U.S. Army will have no choice but to respond. Written in Spanish.
December 30, 1836 letter from [J.] [ina] a Ortega to General Gavaiel (Gabriel) Valencia regarding an army of 10,000 men. From December 30, 1845 to January 2, 1846 Cabriel Valencia served as interim president of Mexico. Written in Spanish.
Poems, "La concha de Nacar" a Mexican sonnet, and "To a Cigar." Written in Spanish.
Batallon de Zapadores (Pioneer Battalion) in Matanoras. Details of arms and munitions, tools, musical instruments that this batallion had as of July 10, 1844 and August 10, 1844.
Batallon Permarente de Zapadores. Details of arms and munitions, tools, musical instruments that this ballalion had as of October 1844 and November 1844.
Dates
- Creation: 1844-1847
Creator
- Scott, Winfield, 1786-1866 (Person)
Language of Materials
Spanish;Castilian English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Winfield Scott (June 13, 1786 - May 29, 1866) was a United States Army general, diplomat, and presidential candidate. Known as "Old Fuss and Feathers" and the "Grand Old Man of the Army", he served on active duty as a general longer than any other man in American history and most historians rate him the ablest American commander of his time. Over the course of his fifty-year career, he commanded forces in the War of 1812, the Mexican-American War, the Black Hawk War, the Second Seminole War, and, briefly, the American Civil War, conceiving the Union strategy known as the Anaconda Plan that would be used to defeat the Confederacy.
A national hero after the Mexican War, he served as military governor of Mexico City. Such was his stature that, in 1852, the United States Whig Party passed over its own incumbent President of the United States, Millard Fillmore, to nominate Scott in the U.S. presidential election. Scott lost to Democrat Franklin Pierce in the general election, but remained a popular national figure, receiving a brevet promotion in 1856 to the rank of lieutenant general, becoming the first American since George Washington to hold that rank.
Extent
0.01 Linear Foot
- Title
- Guide to the Mexican-American War Collection
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson and Bea Hardy.
- Date
- 2010-03-30
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository