Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11
Gideon Christian Papers
Fluvanna Female Institute Account Book and John Hartwell Cocke Farm Inventory Book
Account book of Fluvanna Female Institute with names of patrons and payment receipts for board. Also includes an inventory and account book of a farm at "Bremo," Fluvanna County, Va. This farm was presumably owned by John Hartwell Cocke. Includes produce sold and expenses paid. Of note, are some entries that include tax in kind payments of oats to either the United States Union or Confederacy. There is a loose page of inventory of implements at "Lower Bremo," New Kent County, Va.
Geddy-Harris Archive Records
This collection contains deeds, abstracts of title, wills, and other legal documents from the law firm of Geddy, Harris, Franck & Hickman in Williamsburg, Virginia. The bulk of the material consists of abstracts of title to real property located in Williamsburg, Virginia, and nearby counties, including the Historic Area of Colonial Williamsburg, from the 1920s to the 1950s, as well as deeds to properties in Williamsburg and nearby counties from the 1880s to the 1950s.
John Dandridge Papers
Papers; 1767-1825; of John Dandridge and John Hopkins. Include letters of Dandridge to Hopkins concerning his law practice; courtship; financial matters; a trip to the Sweet Springs (Monroe County, Va.) for his health; and "Providence Forge," New Kent County, Va. Includes papers (legal documents and accounts) concerning John Dandridge, Bartholomew Dandridge, John Armistead, William Armistead and John Hopkins.
Ledger for Sale of Bacon, Lard, and Tobacco
Large 19 x 13.5 inch leather bound ledger that records the sale of mostly bacon and lard, but also includes whiskey, brandy, tobacco, and other items. Sale account locations include Smithfield, New Kent County, Richmond, Caroline County, Goochland, and Southampton. There is also account of dealings with merchants in Baltimore, Maryland and Boston, Massachusetts. Creator of the ledger is not discernable.
Macon Family Manuscript Volumes
W. H. Macon Papers
Papers, 1848-1866, of Dr. W. H. Macon of New Kent County, Va. Includes accounts, 1798, and a draft of his petition, 1866, to the U. S. Senate for the restoration of his full citizenship after the Civil War. 11 items.
Photograph of Dr. Thomas Arnott's Gravestone
Black and white photograph, 5 x 7, of the grave of Dr. Thomas Arnott, marked by a granite slab, at the Warreneye Church site, New Kent County, Virginia.
Turner Family Papers
Virginia Counties Collection
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
William Chamberlayne Account Book
Photostat copy of a ledger, 1781-1812, of William Chamberlayne, New Kent County, Va. which includes recipes for dyes.