Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 30

Philip Pendleton Barbour Military Recommendation of William Brown

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00466
Scope and Contents

Letter from P[hilip] P[endleton] Barbour to J.C. (John C.) Calhoun and Samuel L. Southard, Washington, [D.C.] recommending William H. Brown for a position as a midshipman or cadet's warrant.  September 29, 1823.

Blair Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68s B57
Scope and Contents An artificial collections of papers concerning the Blair family of Williamsburg. Includes land grant, 1741, signed by James Blair (1655-1743); document, 1768, signed by John Blair (1689-1771) concerning Loudoun County, Va. justices of the peace; depositions, 1787 and n.d., of John Blair (1732-1800) concerning a lawsuit in the Superior Court of Chatham County, Ga. (Margaret Eustace vs. Seth John Cuthbert) which concerned the estate of his brother, James Blair (1741-1772); deposition, November...

Alfred E. Bradley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.59
Scope and Contents The collection of Alfred E. Bradley largely concerns his service, first as Military Observer and then as First Chief Surgeon, with the American Expeditionary Force (AEF) in England and France between 1916 and 1918. The bulk of the collection consists of papers and documents covering the period May 1916 through June 1918 and concerns Bradley's service in Europe during World War I. The collection includes correspondence and documents mainly relating to  Bradley's official capacity as Military...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Colonel Glen L. Shivel Army Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00481
Content Description

Official military papers of Colonel Glen L. Shivel including congratulatory correspondence, citations, official awards, certificates, and his retirement records. Some records contain personal information and are closed to researchers at this time. Shivel also served as assistant professor at the College of William and Mary from 1966- 1970.

George K. Dakin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00243
Scope and Contents

The papers of George K. Dakin concern his service in the Richmond, Virginia area during the Civil War. Dakin served in voluntary military service in the 1st New Hampshire Battery, from Manchester, New Hampshire, during the Civil War. The collection contains several Muster Rolls (in and out), certificates of promotions, official discharges, and a report written by Dakin's superior, F. M. Edgell, about certain operations of the 1st New Hampshire Battery.

Joel Holleman Letter to President Martin Van Buren

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00530
Scope and Contents

Joel Holleman, Washington, to "Mr. President"  [Martin van Buren] recommending Holt Wilson for the position of purser in the U. S. Navy.  December 4, 1839.

Jefferson H. Clark Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00107
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of Jefferson H. Clark, a Philadelphia, Pennsylvania physician, who was a field surgeon in France during World War I, and of the research papers of his daughter Mary Clark Shade (1928-2009), who was working on a book documenting her father's WWI duty. Jefferson H. Clark's papers include diaries, an officer's record book, correspondence, military orders and records, maps (one of which is labeled 'trench map'), photographs, dictionary, his...

Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00032
Scope and Contents

Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings.  The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.

Amos Koontz Papers I

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 K83
Scope and Contents The collection consists mainly of certificates presented to Amos R. Koontz, M.D., by the army, together with his medals in a frame, and membership certificates in organizations. Included is a competition for designs for National Military Dress (1809); and shoemaker’s account books of Harden Keyser (1849-1861), one of which Mattie Keyser used as a scrapbook at a later period and in which she wrote autograph poems; a souvenir booklet of the Panama Pacific Exposition (1915); and genealogical...

William Lamb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating...

Francis J. Mallory Letter to Abel P. Upshur

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00546
Scope and Contents

Francis J. Mallory to Abel P. Upshur, Secretary of the Navy, where he recommends the son of a friend for a naval warrant.  October 7, 1841.

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Documents from this collection are currently being transferred to the Small Collection  as individual items with SC identification numbers. ...

J.T. McAllister's Notebooks on the Revolutionary War and Virginia Counties

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1930.108
Scope and Contents Notebooks of typescript or handwritten abstracts of land documents and Revolutionary War records kept by J[oseph] T . McAllister, a lawyer from Warm Springs, Virginia.  Most of the land abstracts are from Bath County, Virginia from the late 1700's to mid 1800's, though some records are from the 1910/11 era for Bath County and 1904 era for Highland County.  The Revolutionary transcripts include many  war service declarations from many Virginia Counties.He was author of several...

Alexander McRae Commission for Robert H. Warburton

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00550
Scope and Contents

Appointment, 1808 December 27, of Robert H. Warburton as Captain of the 68th Regiment, 2nd Brigade, 4th Division of the Virginia militia. Signed by Lt. Gov. Alexander McRae.

Merchant's Journal, Shenandoah Valley

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame 37u
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1866-1867, of an unidentified merchant in the [Shenandoah Valley, Va. ?] which was entered in a book of printed forms for military reports of military companies of the Confederate States Army.

Mexican-American War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00798
Scope and Contents General Order No.87, Vera Cruz, April 1, 1847: ordering preventative measures to insure martial law stops atrocities committed such as killing cattle and seizing private property. Written in English.   Sello Seto. De Ofico. Legal form for criminal cases. 1846-47. Projecto...Project about organization, operations and interesting points for the expeditionary army in Texas. Sent to the Governor General. Suggestions for how the Mexican forces in...

William H. E. Morecock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00110
Scope and Contents

Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment.  Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853.  Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.

Murray Nadel Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00794
Scope and Contents Papers of Murray Nadel (1918-1997) of New York City. Nadel served with the 8th Air Force, 379th Bomb Group, 527th Bomb Squadron in WW II and his plane was shot down and captured. He was interred in a German Prison camp from January 1944 to May 1945. Included are military records detailing the shooting down of Nadel's plane and the fate of his fellow crew members. Also included, among other items, are forms and correspondence from the Veterans Administration, his honorable discharge and...

Hugh Nelson Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00556
Scope and Contents

Letter from Hugh Nelson, Chamber of the House of Representatives, Washington, D.C.,  to an unidentified recipient recommending his nephew Thomas N. Carter for admission to the United States Naval Service.   March 3, [ca. 1811-1823].

Notebook and Military Data

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nmi1
Scope and Contents

Technical data, circa 1780-1790, on artillery which includes reports of firings at Woolwich [England. ?] The volume also includes verse, accounts with officers, and philosophical writings.

Lucy A. Randolph Widow's Pension

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00968
Scope and Contents

Widow's pension, 9 March 1878, from the U.S. Department of the Interior for Lucy A. Randolph, widow of Thomas Mann Randolph, former Captain 2nd Regiment, U.S. Artillery at the rate of $8 per month. ADS.

United States Military Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Un3
Scope and Contents Artificial collections of papers, mainly 1830-1880 and 1941-1946, concerning the United States military but excluding Civil War materials. Collection includes return, 1782, of J. Pannill's Brigade, Williamsburg, Va.; printed regulations, 1814, for the uniform of U.S. Light Dragoons; pay voucher, 1833, for Philip St. George Cocke; papers, 1836-1848, concerning service of M.M. Payne; general order no. 94, and pencil sketch concerning the Mexican War; printed general orders for 1869, 1871, and...

U.S.S. Attala Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00796
Scope and Contents

Papers of "U.S.S. Attala" with W.S.G. Davis the Commanding Officer. Appear to be stationed in or near Pearl Harbor. Contains memos with commands, usually signed by N. M. Brown, Lieutenant of the United States Navy Reserve, newsletter entitled "The Attala X-Ray," and "Plan of the Day" for days in 1945-1946. Includes typed carbon copy of August 11, 1945 notice received from WVTK Armed Services Radio Station Leyte, Philippines about the terms of the Japanese surrender proposal.

Joel Ward Military Appointment

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00994
Scope and Contents

Appointment of Joel Ward as a Captain of a Troop of Cavalry in the Third Regiment and Third Division of the Militia in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Signed by William H. Cabell, Governor. September 6, 1806. "Berkeley" is noted on the bottom. On the reverse is written "Joel Ward was duly sworn to act under and did act under the within commission untill after the war with England declared by the US in the year 1812, ...year 1816 he resigned."

Filtered By

  • Subject: Military records X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Military records 15
Orders (military records) 14
Appointments (military records) 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
Correspondence 6
∨ more
Account books 4
Legal documents 4
Letters (correspondence) 4
Photographs 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Financial records 3
Maps 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
World War, 1914-1918--France 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Diaries 2
Military pensions. 2
Notebooks 2
Poems 2
Research notes 2
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Transcripts 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 2
United States. Army--Appointments, promotions, salaries, etc 2
United States. Army--Surgeons 2
United States. Navy--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
World War, 1914-1918--Medical care--France 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Artillery 1
Bath County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Bath County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Bath County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Birth certificates 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 3rd 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Debt 1
Decedents' estates 1
Deeds--Virginia--Bath County 1
Deeds--Virginia--Highland County 1
Diseases 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Dyes and dyeing 1
English poetry--18th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Finances 1
Food conservation 1
Fort Fisher (N.C.) 1
Frederick County (Va.)--Genealogy 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Great Britain--History 1
Great Britain--History, Naval 1
Great Britain. Army 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Helmets 1
Highland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Highland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Indentures 1
Insurance, Fire--Virginia--History 1
Inventories 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--18th century 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 1
Journals (accounts) 1
Kingdom of the Two Sicilies 1
Lawyers--Virginia--James City County 1
Lectures 1
Letters of recommendation 1
Logging--Virginia 1
Loudoun County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Lumber trade--Virginia--History 1
Manila (Philippines)--Description and travel 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps--United States 1
Mecklenburg County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Language
French 2
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Allison White and Company 1
Armistead, Moss 1
Blair family 1
Blair, James, 1656-1743 1
∨ more
Blair, James, 1741-1772 1
Blair, John, 1687-1771 1
Blair, John, 1732-1800 1
Calhoun, John C. (John Caldwell), 1782-1850 1
Carter, Thomas Nelson, 1800-1883. 1
Centenary Church 1
Chaffee, Sarah Lamb 1
Clark, Jefferson H., b. 1890 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteer Regiment, 32nd 1
Cuthbert, Seth John, d. 1788 1
Digges, Dudley 1
Dobson, Richard 1
Eustace, Margaret 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
Forrest Family 1
Georgia. Superior Court. Chatham County. 1
Glen Leroy Shivel, Jr., Colonel 1
Greenhow, Robert, b. 1761 1
Guy family 1
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 1
Joynt, Richard G. 1
Koontz, Amos Ralph, 1890-1965 1
Lafayette, Marie Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert Du Motier, marquis de, 1757-1834 1
Lamb, Sarah Anne Chaffee, b. 1837 1
Lamb, William, 1838-1909 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
McAllister, J. T. ( Joseph Thompson), 1866-1927 1
McCandlish, Robert 1
McRae, Alexander 1
Meredith, Samuel 1
Morecock, William Henry Edloe 1
Nadel, Murray, 1918-1997 1
Randolph, Thomas Mann 1
Scott, Winfield, 1786-1866 1
Shade, Mary Clark, 1928-2009 1
Slaughter, John 1
Titanic (Steamship) 1
Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute 1
United States. Army 1
United States. Army. American Expeditionary Forces 1
United States. Army. Artillery, 2nd Regiment. 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 10th 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 1st 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 22nd 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Mounted Rifles, 1st 1
United States. Army. Michigan Infantry Regiment, 22nd. 1
United States. Army. New Hampshire Battery, 1st 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 70th 1
United States. Army. Ohio Volunteers 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 101st 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Volunteers, 63rd. Company C 1
United States. Army. Rhode Island Volunteers, 2nd 1
United States. Army. Vermont Infantry Regiment, 2nd 1
Upshur, A. P. (Abel Parker), 1790-1844 1
Valentine, Edward Virginius, 1838-1930 1
Virginia. Militia. 68th Regiment 1
Warburton, Mary 1
Warburton, Robert 1
Warburton, Robert H 1
Waring, Henry 1
Waring, Thomas 1
Waring, William 1
West, Francis 1
West, John 1
Wharburton family 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wilson, Holt 1
Yerby, William H 1
∧ less