Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 13

Catlett Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.28
Scope and Contents Catlett family papers of Caroline County, Virginia. Correspondence that reflects the hard times in Virginia following the Civil War. Collection contains 72 original letters. Written by various extended family members, the majority of the letters are addressed to Arthur Catlett, a former Confederate Soldier and Virginia resident who moved to Texas shortly after the Civil War. Transcriptions for almost all letters, provided by the collection's donor, Elizabeth Jean Voss, are included....

John "Jack" Fitzgerald Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01186
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1827-1855, written to John "Jack" Fitzgerald of "Walnut Hill," Nottoway County, Va. Letters written by Thomas Branch and Bros. of Petersburg, Va, his brother, William Fitzgerald (House of Delegates, Richmond, Va.) and Winfree Williamson of Richmond, Va.

Topics and genre include bills, family news, legal matters, invoices and account statements of items sold, prices and commission information and correspondence concerning the selling of slaves.

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Minnie A. Hill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00932
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of letters from supervisors or sponsors to Minnie A. Hill, a northern female teacher, who was in Norfolk and then Petersburg, Virginia teaching at freedmen’s schools in the late 1860s.

Ives Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.091
Scope and Contents

Ledgers, letters, receipts, and other material, circa 1850s to 1910, related to the Ives family of Falls Church, Virginia. Includes ledgers of S.S. Ives' business in Falls Church where he made and repaired items for wagons and carts. His customers included African-Americans. Also includes correspondence between members of the Ives family. There are also political materials, receipts, account books, and other materials.

Thomas Landers Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00025
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a letter written by Thomas Landers, a private in the 16th Massachusetts Volunteers during the American Civil War, to his parents. In the letter, Landers comments on camp life during the war and the rescuing of escaped slaves in Virginia near Fortress Monroe. The partial transcription of the letter can be found in the finding aid/box list section below.

Robert Ould Letters to Nathaniel Beverley Tucker

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00677
Scope and Contents

Two letters from Robert Ould to Nathaniel Beverly Tucker.

The 1868 letter, written from Richmond, Virginia, is four pages and refers to the punishment being meted out to Southern rebels, especially Jefferson Davis. (Ould was the Confederate chief of the Bureau of the Exchange of Prisoners.)

The 1877 letter is two pages and concerns Ould's son who was on trial for a shooting.  Ould attended the proceedings.

Thomas Mann Randolph Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2001.32 and Acc. 2004.19
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a letter, 1809 September 15, from Thomas Mann Randolph to Thomas Jefferson as well as a ledger recording business transactions of "Tuckahoe" plantation, including records of Tuckahoe Coal Mining Company. The letter is autographed and signed by Randolph with an endorsement by Jefferson.

Thomas Taylor Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 T21
Scope and Contents

Letters, primarily 1867-1880, written to Thomas Taylor of "Woodlawn," Goochland Co., Va., from his daughter Sarah C. (Taylor) Hatcher and son-in-law David A. Hatcher of Missouri. The letters concern family business and reflect financial difficulties. Includes reports and correspondence, 1877- 1888, of Taylor who served as the clerk of the First School District in Goochland County.

Tyler Family Papers, Group A - H, Additions

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Additions
Scope and Contents

Additions to the Tyler Family Papers that are not shelved with Mss. 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers, Groups A-H are included on the pdf inventories.

Please see the record for 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers.

Many of these additions can logically be incorporated into the Groups A-H, and possibly will be in the future.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Letters (correspondence) X
  • Subject: Virginia--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Financial records 5
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Photographs 3
Virginia--History--19th century 3
∨ more
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 3
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Correspondence 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
Tobacco farmers--Virginia 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
African Americans--Education--Virginia 1
African Americans--History 1
African Americans--History--19th century 1
Buffalo (N.Y.) 1
Bunker Hill Monument (Boston, Mass.)--History. 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Carriage and wagon making 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Caswell County (N.C.)--History--19th century 1
Certificates 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Constitutional law--United States. 1
Dueling 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Editorials 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farms--Texas--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--Nottoway County 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Genealogical tables 1
Genealogy 1
Greeting cards 1
Indians of North America 1
Invoices 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Kentucky--History--19th century 1
Legal documents 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Marriage certificates 1
Missouri--History--19th century 1
New York (N.Y.) 1
Niagara Falls 1
Nottaway County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Photocopies 1
Pittsylvania County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Presidents' spouses--United States 1
Presidents--United States--Election 1
Prisoners of war--Legal status, laws, etc.--United States 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Report cards 1
Sermons 1
Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 1
Slave labor 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Speeches 1
Stock certificates 1
Tax records 1
Texas--History--19th century 1
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Transcripts 1
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 1
United States--Description and travel 1
United States--Politics and government--1815-1861 1
United States. Constitution. 1
United States. Navy 1
United States. Navy--History--19th century 1
United States. Navy--History--20th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1
Visiting cards 1
Wagons 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Language
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Battaile family 1
Carrington family 1
Catlett family 1
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 1