Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

Campbell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Jack Beck Bryan Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01171
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, a diary, and other material collected by Jack Beck Bryan related to his stay at a Citizens Military Training Camp (CMTC) at Camp Knox, Kentucky during the summer of 1925. Camp Knox officially changed its name to Fort Knox in 1932. The Citizen Military Trianing Camps allowed male citizens to obtain basic military training without any requirement to be called for active duty. Bryan writes to friends back home in New Philadelphia, Ohio pertaining to his...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas Robinson Joynes Memoranda

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr2
Scope and Contents

Memoranda, 1810, made by Thomas R. Joynes on a journey from Virginia and Ohio to Kentucky.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Presbyterian Education Society Travel Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr4
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1833, of either [John Spaulding or Franklin Y, Vail ?] while serving as agent for the Presbyterian Education Society in Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rev. Thomas and M. L. Steadman Letters,

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00045
Scope and Contents Collection of letters by Rev. Thomas Steadman and his wife, M. L. Steadman, three of which date from their time in America, to his friend and father-in-law, W. Kitson; and from M. L. Steadman to her mother, Mrs. W. Kitson of Brixton Hill, Surrey, England.  The letters provide commentary about their travels in America, including Chicago, Missouri, and Kentucky, Mrs. Steadman's opinion of revival meetings in western New York, possibly conducted by Charles G. Finney and Jedediah Burchard. The...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Kate M. Walsh Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00709
Scope and Contents Diary, 1866-1891, of Kate M. Walsh, a teacher from Cambridge, New York. Walsh primarily teaches at the Caldwell Institute in Danville, Kentucky and in a suburb of Chicago. Entries include information about her job as a teacher, her interaction with other teachers and school officials, and with her students. There is also information about her Methodist faith, teaching Bible classes, her attendance at religious services, and her relationship with her sisters and other family members. She also...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Kentucky--Description and travel X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Diaries 3
Ohio--Description and travel 2
American Revolution--Veterans 1
Anti-slavery movements--Great Britain 1
Bounties, Military--United States 1
∨ more
Canal Zone 1
Clergy 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 1
Correspondence 1
Education 1
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Fort Knox (Ky.)--History 1
Illinois--Description and travel 1
Indiana--Description and travel 1
Invoices 1
Kentucky--History--19th century 1
Kentucky--Social Life and customs 1
Legal documents 1
Medicine--History--19th century 1
Methodist Church--Kentucky 1
Missouri--Description and travel--19th century 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Pensions, Military--United States--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
Presbyterian Church--United States--History 1
Prisons--Virginia 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Reports 1
Revivals--New York (State)--19th century 1
Schools--Kentucky 1
Second Great Awakening 1
Study and teaching 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--History--War of 1812 1
United States. Army--Pay, allowances, etc 1
Virginia State Penitentary--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Description and travel 1
Women--Kentucky--History 1
∧ less
 
Names
Bryan, Jack Beck 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Coleman, Emma Cornelia Parran 1
∨ more
Coleman, Reuben Lindsay 1
Graves family 1
Hill, A. P. (A. Powell) 1
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 1
Joynes, Thomas R. (Robinson), 1789-1859 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Magurk, M. E. 1
Parran, William S., d. 1862 1
Steadman, M. L 1
Steadman, Thomas. 1
United States. War Department. Citizens' Military Training Camps 1
Walsh, Kate M. 1
∧ less