Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...

Richard Billups Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B49
Scope and Contents

Business, military and legal papers, chiefly 1774-1822, of Richard Billups of Mathews and Gloucester Counties, Virginia. Papers include accounts, land records, and correspondence and some concern shipbuilding. Includes minutes, 1842, of a temperance meeting and Methodist church records.

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: Receipts (financial records) X
  • Subject: Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Financial records 4
Correspondence 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
∨ more
Account books 2
Legal documents 2
Maps 2
Slavery--Southern States--History 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Clergy 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Diaries 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Farm management 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Merchants 1
Greene County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Journals (accounts) 1
Judges--Virginia 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps--United States 1
Marriage-Virginia-Gloucester County 1
Mathews County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Methodist Church--Virginia 1
Methodist Church--Virginia--Clergy--History--19th century. 1
Military pensions. 1
Minutes 1
Orders (military records) 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Philosophy and religion 1
Photographs 1
Poems 1
Political cartoons 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Programs 1
Publications 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reports 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Rosters 1
Shipbuilding--Virginia 1
Slave labor 1
Suffolk, Battle of, Va., 1863 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Technical reports 1
Temperance--History--19th century 1
Transcripts 1
United States--Economic history 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations--Confederate States 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Participation, African American 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Poetry 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Regimental histories--Army of the Potomac 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Songs and music 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
United States. Army--Supplies and stores 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 142nd (1861-1865) 1
United States. Army. New York Volunteers, 55th. Company C 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 61st 1
United States. Navy--History--Civil War 1
Vicksburg (Miss.)--History 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--Militia 1
Virginia--Politics and Government 1
∧ less
 
Names
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Billups, Richard 1
Booth family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1