Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 24

Armistead-Cocke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ar6
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1756-1764, of Maria Carter Armistead (including letters written by Mrs. Thomas Feilde); business papers, 1782-1828, of William Cocke of "Bremo," Henrico County, Virginia and of "Oakland," Cumberland County, Virginia; and letters, 1861-1863, of William Fauntleroy Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston Cocke and Edmund Randolph Cocke concerning their service in the Confederate States Army (including the Battle of First Bull Run).Also included are five volumes of farm and...

Thomas and Philip M. Arnold Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.112
Scope and Contents This collection consists of a receipt "for the board of Thomas and Philip Arnold from 22nd Feby to July 4th 1856" received from Professor (Henry?) Washington issued by the College of William and Mary. Also includes a 1859 license for Philip M. Arnold to practice Law in Virginia, and a 1859 certificate from the Anatomy, Materia Medica and Botany School at the University of Virginia for Thomas T. Arnold. There is also a certificate, 4 July 1860, from The College of William and Mary for the...

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...

Borland Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B66
Scope and Contents The Borland, Green, and Godwin families are related in the following manner. George Godwin, son of Jeremiah Godwin, married Fanny Green (whose mother was Mary (Giles) Green) in 1805. Dr. Thomas Wood Borland (d. 1830 or 1831), father of Roscius Cicero Borland, married Harriott Godwin, daughter of Jeremiah Godwin and Sarah (Wilkinson) Godwin.Family correspondence, chiefly 1830-1854, of Mary (Giles) Green and George Godwin of Nansemond County, Virginia; Roscius C. Borland of...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Dew Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D51
Scope and Contents NOTE: This collection must be accessed on microfilm: The film is available in the library microforms section on the ground floor, call number LD6051 .W517 1836 D49.Papers, 1794-1895, of the Dew family. Mostly correspondence of Thomas Roderick Dew, faculty member and president oF William & Mary and his brother Benjamin Franklin Dew, a lawyer of Newtown, King and Queen County, Va. Correspondents include William Boulware, Edward Everett, and Andrew Stevenson....

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Financial records 21
Correspondence 17
Receipts (financial records) 9
Account books 8
Legal documents 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Students 5
Genealogy 5
Photographs 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
Poems 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 3
Indians of North America 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Reports 3
Scrapbooks 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Certificates 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
Diaries 2
Diplomas 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Indentures 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Minutes 2
Notebooks 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
Spanish-American War, 1898 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
University of Virginia--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Armistead family 1
Astronomy--Study and teaching 1
Awards and scholarships 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Belmont County (Ohio)--History 1
Buildings and Grounds--Fires--1859 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Charter Day 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Cholera--United States 1
Church of England--Virginia--History 1
Clubs--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Cocke family 1
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 13th. Company H 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteers, Third Brigade 1
Course work 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Cumberland Road 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Genealogical tables 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Greeting cards 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
Hampden-Sydney College--History--19th century 1
Hanover County (Va.)--History 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Henrico County (Va.)--History 1
History of the College 1
Indiana--History 1
∧ less
 
Language
Latin 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
German 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 5
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 2
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 2
∨ more
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Armistead Family 1
Baker family 1
Barber, Levi 1
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Bernard Family 1
Blow family 1
Booth family 1
Borland, Roscius Cicero, d. 1847 1
Borland, Thomas Roscius, 1844-1900 1
Call, Daniel, 1765 (ca.)-1840 1
Carrington family 1
Cocke Family 1
Cocke, Edmund Randolph, 1841-1922 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston, 1838-1895 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1826-1863 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1836-1863 1
Cocke, William, 1798-1855 1
Cocke, William, fl. 1798-1855 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Phoenix Literary Society 1
Dew family 1
Dew, Benjamin Franklin, fl. 1820-1876 1
Doddridge, Philip, 1773-1832 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Ewell family 1
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 1
Galt family 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Garland family 1
Goodwin family 1
Green, Mary Giles, 1762-1819 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Hipkins family 1
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 1
Holmes, John Floyd 1
Johnson, Chapman, 1779-1849 1
Literary Societies--Phoenix Literary Society 1
Longwood University 1
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 1
McDowell, Lilly 1
Millington, Thomas Charles, fl. 1836-1850 1
Minnigerode, Charles, 1814-1894 1
Morgan family 1
Office of the President 1
Preston family 1
Readjuster Party of Virginia 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Robinson Family 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Ruggles, Benjamin, 1783-1857 1
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 1
Sheffey, Daniel, 1770-1830 1
Sheldon, Jacob D. 1
Stubbs family 1
Stubbs, Thomas Jefferson, 1841-1915 1
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Taylor, Tazewell, 1810-1875 1
Todd family 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Turner family 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United States. Navy. Office of the Paymaster 1
Upton family 1
Waller family 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 1
Washington, Lawrence, 1791-1875 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wilson, Edgar Campbell, 1800-1860 1
Wilson, George Washington, b. 1807 1
Wilson, Thomas, 1765-1826 1
Woods, Archibald, 1764-1846 1
∧ less