Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 59
An extensive collection of business correspondence, financial papers, daybooks, legal papers, and account books, chiefly 1800-1850, of Col. Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh, documenting his work as tanner and justice of the peace at Bedford County, Va. The collection also includes accounts, 1832-1857, of James Oney.
Receipt book for accounts paid by Henry Bedinger of Berkeley County, Virginia, 1789-1801. Also contains accounts of a private school with teachers and pupils, 1848-1849 (5 pages at end of book), farm memoranda and accounts of an unknown person with farm laborers (including a list of negroes hired for manual labor) and household servants, 1856-1873. 182 pages.
Business ledgers of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and one folder of loose business papers (25 items). 1926 to 1970. (Acc. 1995.61 and 1999.11)
The Byers Family Papers include personal and business correspondence; accounts, and business records of the members of the Byers family of Augusta County, Virginia, especially those papers belonging to Joseph Byers, who repaired wells; Samuel C. Byers; and Robert C. Byers. This collection also includes report cards, 1890-1893, of Edwin C. and Howard Byers, and a few letters of James C. Byers, and Leila Byers.
Correspondence, personal accounts, 7 ledgers, and legal papers, 1869-1912, of Robert S. Campbell, sheriff of Fluvanna County, Va. Includes materials on raising cattle, travel, the duties of a sheriff, and material relative to Fluvanna County. One of the ledgers is 502 pages in length and contains numerous correspondence loosely tucked inside the volume.
The collection contains letters, receipts, invoices, and account books of Thomas Croxton concerning his law practice at Tappahannock, Va. Includes accounts with J.M. Parr & Son, commission merchants of Baltimore, Md. who received grain from Croxton by ship and sold it on consignment.
Business and family papers of the Charles R. and Charles E. Diggs family of Mathews, Virginia and Susan, Virginia. The Diggs Family owed an automobile engine business. In 1921, it was named "Overland and Willys Knight Automobiles Mianus Engines, " but had other names through the years. The family also sold seafood products. Charles Robert Diggs worked in various automotive and machine shops in the area after 1920's.
Includes correspondence (112 pieces), 1890-1915, of Oscar N. Early, farmer of Albemarle and Prince William counties, Va. Includes letters from his wife Mary Brown Early and his brother, Everett E. Early. Also includes printed circular letters, sheets and cards as well as accounts. Includes letter, 25 February 1914, concerning the estate of William Jennings of Acton, England.
Receipt book, 1853-1876, of Dr. G. G. Davison, Lexington, Va. The receipts were pasted into a printed book which was also used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings.
Papers, 1865-1879, of Charles Howard, sheriff of Hanover County, Va. concerning estates for which he was administrator. Includes a memorandum book of accounts, loose accounts and legal documents concerning two lawsuits.
The records of the Ivy House Restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia include business records, guest registers, customer and business correspondence, legal documents, and a variety of ephemera from the local business including menus. This mid-20th century collection documents the history of this restaurant during a time when Williamsburg was going through changes and growth in the tourism industry.