Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Editorial about Old Point Comfort, Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00678
Scope and Contents

Draft of an editorial praising Old Point Comfort, Virginia by an unknown writer.  Mentions seabathing, food, walking and the pleasant soldiers and veterans, particularly Colonel Walback. Written between August 1842 and July 1848.

Dates: circa 1842-1848
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Israel Green Letter to Clara G. Murphy about supporting Abraham Lincoln for President

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00882
Scope and Contents

November 3, 1882 letter from Israel Green of Mt. Vernon, Ohio to his daughter, Clara G. Murphy in Indiana, about his letter to the editor on November 6, 1858 in the Daily Cincinnati Gazette supporting Lincoln for President. Describes circumstances that led to the letter.

Israel Green was known as the first person to publically suggest Abraham Lincoln for President.

Dates: 1882 November 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Literary Addresses, Articles, Essays, Poetry and Short Stories

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.4 Lit
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection composed of original material, handwritten or typed, of addresses, articles, essays, poetry and short stories. Most material was received in the 1930s or 40s.

Dates: 1808-1938
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group A - H, Additions

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Additions
Scope and Contents

Additions to the Tyler Family Papers that are not shelved with Mss. 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers, Groups A-H are included on the pdf inventories.

Please see the record for 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers.

Many of these additions can logically be incorporated into the Groups A-H, and possibly will be in the future.

Dates: 1821-1976
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates: 1858-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Editorials X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Letters (correspondence) 2
Speeches 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
∨ more
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Announcements 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Broadsides 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Bunker Hill Monument (Boston, Mass.)--History. 1
Calendars 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Correspondence 1
Dueling 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Essays 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Greeting cards 1
Invitations 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
Journals (periodicals) 1
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Menus 1
Methodist Church--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Microfilms 1
Obituaries 1
Occasion for the Arts 1
Old Point Comfort (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Pamphlets 1
Photographs 1
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Postcards--Virginia 1
Postcards--Virginia--Jamestown 1
Posters 1
Presidents' spouses--United States 1
Presidents--United States--Election 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1856 1
Prints 1
Programs 1
Public libraries--Cultural programs 1
Reports 1
Restaurants--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 1
Short stories 1
Signs (declaratory or advertising artifacts) 1
Smithfield (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Theater 1
Transportation--Virginia 1
United States--Politics and government--1815-1861 1
Virginia--Description and travel 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Civic league 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--21st century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Drama 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Maps 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Newspapers 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Restoration 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 1
Williamsburg (Va.). 300th Anniversary Commission 1
Yorktown (Va.) 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Galt, John Minson, II, 1819-1862 1
∨ more
Graves, William J. (Congressman), 1806-1876 1
Greenleaf, Joseph 1
Holloway, Laura C. (Laura Carter), b. 1848 1
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 1
Mathews, Mary 1
McCandlish (Colonel) 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Minge (Dr.) 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Poughkeepsie Lyceum (N.Y.) 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Shields, Howard 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tyler Family 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Mary 1
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 1
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Virginia State Senate 1
Waggaman, George 1
Walbach, John Baptiste de Barth, 1766-1857 1
Wheaton (Mr.) 1
Whig Party (U.S.) 1
Wickliffe, C.A 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 1
+ ∧ less