Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 14 of 14

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Dates: 1909-1966

Coleman-Wilson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 C67
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1919-1964, written by Mary Haldane Begg Coleman (1875-1967) of Williamsburg, Virginia, to Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson (1881-1965), of Charlottesville, Virginia. Diaries of Mary Haldane Begg Coleman and Isabella Haldane.Other correspondents include Janet Coleman Kimbrough, Mary H.B. Coleman's daughter and Alida Wilson Davidson, the daughter of Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson.Scrapbooks containing information on John Tyler, Tyler descendants, and the Tucker...
Dates: 1775-1989; Majority of material found in 1883-1964

Mollie M. Graves Letters (Photostats)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01249
Scope and Contents

Photostatic copies (likely made circa 1965-1970) of letters written to Mollie M. Graves in Charles City Courthouse, who recently left Williamsburg, Virginia, from friends and relatives who reside in Williamsburg.  The letters are addressed in care of Robert W. Graves.

Signatures of letter writers include E.B. Bowman, Martha  and Cousin Sallie.  4 letters.

Dates: circa 1965-1970

Martha W. Harrison Letter to Thomas Randolph

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00669
Scope and Contents

Letter written by Martha Harrison to Thomas Randolph about dances and jubilees, dated May 15, 1807.  19.5 cm x 23 cm.  Transcript included.

Martha Harrison may be Martha Wayles Skipwith Harrison who was married to Edmund Harrison and lived in "Genito" in Amelia County, Virginia.  The festivities may be part of the 1807 Jamestown celebrations.

Dates: 1807 May 15

Elizabeth Nunn Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1991.51 and 2000.33
Scope and Contents

Papers of Elizabeth Nunn, an elementary school teacher in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1931-1975

Person Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: MSS ACC 2005.56
Scope and Contents The collection contains papers ranging in date from 1872 to 2002 documenting the Person family. Materials includes account books including those of both Charles Person and William Person, Sr. Other papers and photographsd illustrate family life in the city of Williamsburg, Virginia in the early-to-mid 1900s. Artifacts, including fans, Williamsburg Laundry thermometer and a charcoal drawing of a residence are also included.Box 5 (oversize) includes material from the addition...
Dates: Circa 1872-2002

Pulaski Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00097
Scope and Contents

Records of the Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, a men's social club, named in honor of Count Pulaski of American Revolutionary War fame.  Includes minutes, correspondence, photographs, poetry, stationery and clippings.  Two letters by John D. Rockefeller are included.

Dates: 1877-2014

Howard Scammon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates: 1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970

Archibald F. Ward, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00210
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, clippings, notebooks, and other material related to Archibald F. Ward, Jr. Included in the collection are notebooks and articles pertaining to Ward while he was the Chaplain at Eastern State Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia, biographical material related to Ward, a notebook describing Ward's experience at Magruder and Camp Peary, correspondence with various members of the Rockefeller family, and correspondence related to the 250th anniversary...
Dates: 1939-2007; Majority of material found in 1945-1960

Williamsburg Area Historical Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1993.41 and Acc. 2005.45
Scope and Contents

Records of the Williamsburg Area Historical Society and six monographs on Williamsburg, Virginia related topics.

Dates: 1983-1993

Williamsburg Bibliophiles Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 W67
Scope and Contents

Papers of the Williamsburg (Va.) Bibliophiles. Includes articles of organization, minutes, membership lists, accounts and budgets, newsletters, correspondence, programs, donations and contributions, and materials relating to a student book collecting contest sponsored by the organization. Includes first accession ((Mss. 90 W67))and additions.

Dates: 1974-1991

Williamsburg Bicycle Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00168
Scope and Contents

Records, 1983-1993, of the Williamsburg Bicycle Association. Includes the constitution, minutes, correspondence, fliers, membership lists, and records of dues paid to the organization.

Dates: 1983-1993

Williamsburg Historic Records Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00033
Scope and Contents

Organizational records of the Williamsburg Historic Records Association (W.H.R.A.).  Includes accession record of donations, newspaper articles, press releases, brochures, photographs, resolutions, correspondence, notices of annual meetings, minutes, WHRA constitution and some material on the formation of WHRA. There is also a resolution honoring Janet Coleman Kimbrough.

Dates: 1984-2009

Woman's Club of Williamsburg records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00378
Scope and Contents

The collection contains scrapbooks, yearbooks, photographs, minutes and correspondence showing the activities, projects, causes and meetings of the Woman's Club of Williamsburg.  The Woman's Club was founded to mostly help local schools.

Dates: 1915-2014

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 12
Photographs 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 5
Minutes 4
Pamphlets 4
∨ more
Programs 4
Scrapbooks 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Business records 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Diaries 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Account books 2
Christmas cards 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
Financial records 2
Membership lists 2
Notebooks 2
Photocopies 2
Reports 2
Resolutions (administrative records) 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Birthday cards 1
Book collecting--Virginia--Williamsburg--Societies 1
Booklets 1
Books 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Chaplains, Hospital. 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College theater--United States 1
Cycling 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Greeting cards 1
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
Men--Virginia--Societies and clubs 1
Negatives 1
Newsletters 1
Newspapers 1
Obituaries 1
Playbills 1
Plays (document genre) 1
Poems 1
Presbyterian Church--Virginia 1
Printed ephemera 1
Records (documents) 1
Scripts (documents) 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Slurpies 1
Student Plays 1
Theater 1
Toano (Va.) 1
Visitors to Campus--Queen Elizabeth II (1957) 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Drama 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Hospital 1
Women teachers 1
Women--Societies and clubs 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World War, 1939-1945--United States 1
Yearbooks 1
Yorktown (Va.) 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 13
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Camp Peary (Va.) 2
Coleman family 2
Kimbrough, Janet C 2