Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

J. Willcox Brown and Turner Macfarland Letters

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00083
Scope and Contents

Contains bound letterbooks. The first contains letters written by J. Willcox Brown to Ellen Turner Macfarland. The second contains her letters back to him.

Dates: 1828-1867

Dorsey-Coupland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D73
Scope and Contents This inventory contains correspondence, chiefly 1843-1865, of John R. Coupland of Williamsburg, Richmond and Petersburg, Virginia with his wife Susan Henley Coupland. Some letters were written to Susan Henley Coupland while she was in Williamsburg and he was in Richmond working in Second Auditor's Office of Confederate States of America War Department. Letters written by Carter Coupland while serving on Confederate steamers are also included.This inventory also contains...
Dates: 1840-1876; Majority of material found in 1843-1865

Fletcher Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00216
Scope and Contents Three letterpress copy books of the Fletcher Family.  The books are written by a woman, possibly from Georgia. The writer is an ancestor of the donor, Dr. John S. Fletcher.  Partial signatures suggest Joan and Hownick. Msv. 1 has some water damage and much faded ink.  Cover unattached.  Includes a few pages of transcript from letters written from Richmond, Virginia from July 22-26, 1861.  Carbon paper in back of book.  July-September 1861. Describes traveling from...
Dates: 1861-1867

Hart Papers I and II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H29
Scope and Contents Papers, 1847-1934, including correspondence, essays, articles, and poems by John Hart, a Richmond book seller and poems, short stories, and a novel by his wife, Katherine M. Hart. The papers of John Hart include letters concerning the sale of books and two letters by James Branch Cabell. The collection includes diplomas and certificates awarded by the University of Virginia to his [father ?] John Hart of Louisa County, Va. The Hart Papers (II) series contains 200...
Dates: 1847-1934

John Letcher Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.

Dates: 1860-1875

Andrew J. Weeks Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00239
Scope and Contents 37 letters, mostly during the Civil War era, written by Andrew J. Weeks, of Brooklyn, New York, to his sister, Hannah Weeks of Merrick, Long Island, New York. He was a 1st sergeant of Co. D., 10th Regiment of the New York infantry Volunteers. He wrote from Fort Monroe, Virginia, Gosport Navy Yard, Virginia, Richmond, Virginia, Point Lookout, Maryland, Beaufort, North Carolina and Riker's Island, New York. On March 9, 1861, Weeks states the Merrimac has sunk the Cumberland and the Ericcson...
Dates: 1861-1902; Majority of material found in 1862-1866

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Letters (correspondence) 2
Maryland--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Poems 2
∨ more
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 2
African Americans--Virginia--Photographs 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Booksellers and bookselling--Virginia 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
Confederate States of America. War Dept 1
Courtship 1
Diaries 1
Essays 1
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Letter books 1
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 1
New York (State)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Photographs 1
Photography 1
Photostats 1
Poets, American--19th century 1
Publications 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Richmond (Va.)--Photographs 1
Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History 1
Soldiers' writings, American 1
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 1
Stereographs 1
Transcripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations--Confederate States 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Regimental histories 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Women--Sources 1
University of Virginia--History--19th century 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Women--Southern States--History 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Anderson Gallery 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1833-1914 1
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 1
Coupland family 1
Coupland, Carter, fl.1833-1866 1