Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Marshall M. Miller Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01208
Scope and Contents
Typescripts of letters, xeroxed in circa 1995, written by Union soldier Marshall M. Miller (b. 1827) of Battery F, First Michigan Regiment Light Artillery to his wife Mrs. Adelia M. Miller at Bethel, Branch County, Michigan. Includes descriptions of camp life in Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia. Starting in August 1864, Miller participated in engagements in the Atlanta campaign and there are descriptions of these battles. Also, forms about his military service filled...
Dates:
circa 1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Sims Collection regarding Fugitive Slave Adam
Collection
Identifier: SC 00683
Scope and Contents
This collection contains three letters and a newspaper clipping regarding a fugitive slave named Adam that belonged to William Sims of Union County, South Carolina. The clipping, dated 1805 July 20, gives a description of Adam and offers a two hundred dollar reward for his caputure. The three letters describe the capture and release of Warren Hall whom Adam was last seen with. A transcription of the material found in this collection provided by the seller can be found in the Finding Aid/ Box...
Dates:
1805
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Archibald Woods Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W87
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates:
1777-1846; Majority of material found in 1783-1846
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Yeaman and Walker Family Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.542
Scope and Contents
The Yeaman and Walker Family Collection consists mainly of correspondence and financial records of the Yeaman and Walker families, mostly relating to tobacco farming in Virginia between 1840 and 1910. The predominant locations are Pittsylvania County, Botetourt County, Charlotte County, Lynchburg, and Danville. Letters demonstrate economic stress after the Civil War, particularly as it relates to crop and livestock prices. Other topics discussed include sickness and deaths of children and...
Dates:
1836-1937; Majority of material found in 1850-1910
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center