Marshall M. Miller Papers
Scope and Contents
Typescripts of letters, xeroxed in circa 1995, written by Union soldier Marshall M. Miller (b. 1827) of Battery F, First Michigan Regiment Light Artillery to his wife Mrs. Adelia M. Miller at Bethel, Branch County, Michigan. Includes descriptions of camp life in Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia. Starting in August 1864, Miller participated in engagements in the Atlanta campaign and there are descriptions of these battles. Also, forms about his military service filled out by Miller in 1873 for the Adjutant General's Office, Military Department, Michigan, and a typescript of a letter, 29 March 1903, from J. T. Miller, Union City, Michigan, about the history of the Miller family of Branch County, Michigan.
- Creation: circa 1995
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Marshall M. Miller (b. 1827) served in the Union Army during the Civil War as a soldier of Battery F, First Michigan Regiment Light Artillery. During his time with the Union Army he served in Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .
0.02 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
Organization: This collection is organized into two series. Series 1 contains forms and Series 2 contains letters. Arrangement: This collection is arranged chronologically.
Processed by Ellen Strong in 1996.
Genre / Form
- Atlanta Campaign, 1864
- Branch County (Mich.)--History--19th century
- Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- Kentucky--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- Ohio--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- Tennessee--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- United States. Army. Michigan Light Artillery Regiment, 1st Battery, Company F
- Guide to the Marshall M. Miller Papers
- Finding Aid Authors: Ellen Strong.
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English