Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Bishop James Madison Letter to the Speaker of the House of Delegates concerning Eastern State Hospital

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00641
Scope and Contents

Letter, 1788 October 31, Bishop James Madison, Williamsburg, to the Speaker of the House of Delegates of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia. Concerns Bishop Madison request to the General Assembly of Virginia funds to support the Eastern State Hospital for Lunatics. Also included is a lithograph of Bishop James Madison. The letter and lithograph were given by Harry Krauss in honor of professor David L. Holmes.

Dew Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1794-1895, of the Dew family. Mostly correspondence of Thomas Roderick Dew, faculty member and president of the College of William and Mary and his brother Benjamin Franklin Dew, a lawyer of Newtown, King and Queen County, Va. Correspondents include William Boulware, Edward Everett, and Andrew Stevenson. Includes documents, 1838-1858, relating to Thomas Roderick Dew's estate such as his will, inventories of personal property, court degrees, and accounts....

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Office of the President. Paul R. Verkuil Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.17
Scope and Contents

This collection is composed of files from the College of William and Mary Office of the President during the administration of Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

Robert Saunders Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00270
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of 66 letters written by Robert Saunders of Williamsburg, Virginia to his wife Lucy Burwell Saunders (60 letters) and his daughters Lucy Page Saunders (three letters) and Roberta P. Saunders (two2 letters) from 1829-1867. There is also a letter written on May 4, 1847 to Overton Bernard, the father of College of William and Mary student Jesse Talbot Bernard.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--Presidents X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
College of William and Mary--Presidents 4
Correspondence 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Reports 2
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
∨ more
Athletics 1
Broadsides 1
Charter Day 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents--Dwellings--History 1
Confederate States of America. War Dept 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Essays 1
Financial records 1
Graduation (School) 1
Invitations 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
King and Queen County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lithographs 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Membership lists 1
Memorandums 1
Minutes 1
Newspapers 1
Norge (Va.)--History 1
Notebooks 1
Oral histories 1
Ordinance 1
Photographs 1
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Programs 1
Scrapbooks 1
Speeches 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
Tercentenary of the College--1993 1
Transcripts 1
WCWM (radio station : Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Utilities 1
Women--Education--Virginia--History 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 1
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Zoning ordinances 1
∧ less
 
Names
Verkuil, Paul R 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1