Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 43

Abner K. Pratt, II Student Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.222
Scope and Contents

Two papers written by Pratt for Professor Warner Moss' Government class. One is titled "The Influence of Ethnic Groups in Boston Politics" (Jan. 15, 1947), and the other one is titled "Republican-Democrats in a Boston Ward with a Consideration of the Effects of Improved Economic Status on the Political Preference of the Boston Irish" (May 19,1947).

Dates: 1947

Agnes F. Donaldson Student Paper

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.225
Scope and Contents

History class paper written by Donaldson about the Wren Chapel.

Dates: 1922 May 26

Edmund W. Allen Letter to his Parents

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.129
Scope and Contents

A letter written by College of William and Mary student Edmund W. Allen to his parents. In the letter, Allen writes about his courses, life in Williamsburg, Virginia, and faculty at the College.

Dates: 1837 March 15

Andrew Goldkuhle "Now and Forever" Windows collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.355
Content Description

The collection includes commemorative materials from the dedication of "Now and Forever" stained glass windows at the Washington National Cathedral in Washington, DC on September 23, 2023. William & Mary alumnus Andrew Goldkuhle, (class of 1989) fabricated the windows and is mentioned and pictured throughout the collection.

Dates: 2023

Anna Dorsey Cooke Allison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.234
Scope and Contents

The collection includes Allisons Greek 303 class notes, her freshman Duc cap, a scrapbook she kept while an undergradate at William & Mary, and her gym shirt.

The scrapbook includes ephemera such as pins, tickets stubs, and programs, as well as the 1955 orientation program, a meal ticket, and her Rush schedule. Also included in the scrapbook are her student identification cards from all four years.

Dates: 1955-1959

Arthur Louise William & Mary Tercentenary collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.310
Content Description

A green mug with gold rim and William & Mary Tercentenary design, and a white T-shirt with green and gold William & Mary Tercentenary design, and a tote bag. These items were collected by Arthur R. Louise (Class of 1968) that commemorate William & Mary's Tercentenary in 1993.

Dates: 1993

George William Bagby Certificate of Distinction

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.111
Scope and Contents

Certificate of Distinction presented by William & Mary to George William Bagby, dated June 28, 1894 for having passed his Greek examinations. It is signed by John Lesslie Hall.

Dates: 1894 June 28

Barbara Ruth Bevan Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.116
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a typewritten one-page essay about "The College Bell" by Barbara Bevan and pages from the August 1941 issue of Mademoiselle magazine. The magazine "drafted" female undergraduates from different universities to serve as guest editors for this issue. The pages included in the collection are specific to Bevan, who served as the issues Beauty Editor.

Dates: 1941

Benjamin Irby Student Paper

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.230
Scope and Contents

Student paper titled "Immigration." There are penciled notations written in an unknown hand.

Dates: 1840

Charles F. Counts Student Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.226
Scope and Contents

Two student papers written by Counts. One is on the poetry of Chaucer and the other is on Macbeth.

Dates: circa 1903-1904

Charles Irving Carey Student Paper

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.224
Scope and Contents

Student paper titled "Southern Literature and Its Makers," written by Carey for his A. B. degree, June 3, 1905.

Dates: 1905 June 3

Chi Omega (Omicron Beta) Centennial collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 421
Content Description

Collection includes photographs, printed materials, artifacts, and other materials related to the planning and celebration of the 100th anniversary of the founding of the first sorority chartered at William & Mary.

Dates: 2022 April 29-2022 May 1

Christopher J. Bright Notebooks

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.292
Scope and Contents

14 spiral bound notebooks, dating from 1984-1987, belonging to Christopher J. Bright '87 from his time as a student at William & Mary. The notebooks contain Bright's handwritten notes, included dates, and syllabi materials. They cover coursework in Education (1), Government (7), and History (5).

Dates: 1984-1987

Letter from Herbert A. Claiborne, Jr. to Joseph G. Griswold

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.231
Scope and Contents

Letter written by William & Mary alumnus Claiborne replying to William & Mary alumnus Griswold's invitation to return to Williamsburg, an invitation given by the "Committee to the approaching Celebration." The letter was written eight days after the 1859 fire and speaks to its rebuilding and the perseverance of the College, its faculty, and alumni.

Dates: 1859 February 16

Claiborne R. Winborne duc cap

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.305
Content Description

This collection consists of a green felt duc cap encircled with a gold felt band and a gray felt-covered metal button on the top of the cap. The front of the cap has gray letters "W" and "M" accented with gold stitching, and the back of the cap was hand-embroidered in gold thread by Claiborne Reid Winborne (Class of 1971) with the name "Claiborne" in capital letters. Winborne wore this cap as a Freshman during Orientation Week in Fall 1967.

Dates: 1967

Daniel Hatcher Student Paper

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.229
Scope and Contents

Student paper titled "The Study of Political Science." Notations in pencil are on several pages, made by an unknown hand.

Dates: circa 1840-1843

Dennis Denenberg papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.329
Scope and Contents

The Dennis Denenberg papers contains papers, photographs, and artifacts documenting Dr. Dennis Denenberg's (class of 1969) time as a student at William & Mary. Materials include correspondence, class notebooks and notes, publications, and photographs. Artifacts include a William & Mary cap, silver cup and medal.

Dates: Circa 1960-1970

Elaine Bixiones collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.346
Content Description

The Elaine Bixiones collection contains one navy blue turtleneck t-shirt with gold William & Mary logo owned by Elaine Bixiones. The shirt depicts the former William & Mary logo which consisted of an image of a Native American man.

Dates: Circa 1968-1969

William & Mary Men's Track and Field collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.330
Content Description

A collection of materials related to the 1975 - 1976 William & Mary track season including a yellow poster advertising a meet verses Harvard, two dated photographs of track team members, and a track season brochure.

Dates: 1975 - 1976

J. Edward Grimsley certificates

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.353
Content Description

Collection contains the undergraduate diploma for James Edward Grimsley (class of 1951) and letter of appointment to the Board of Visitors for Grimsley signed by Virginia Governor L. Douglas Wilder in 1990.

Dates: 1951-1990

Janette Dye Erkin Barr photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01807
Content Description

The collection features photographs of events, portraits, and candid photographs of varying sizes which showcase high school and college years of the subject, Janette Dye Erick Barr and her peers. The photographs document student life and the campus at William & Mary.

Dates: 1937-1947

Joan Showalter collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.358
Content Description

The Joan Showalter collection contains a duc cap, gavel, William & Mary Tribe logo lights, handbook and awards related to student life at William & Mary.

Dates: Circa 1951-1990

John B. Terrell Essay

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.182
Scope and Contents

John B. Terrell's degree essay titled "National Honor vs. National Greed."

Dates: 1905 June

John G. Warburton Chemistry Experiment Book

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.235
Scope and Contents

Experiment book kept by John G. Warburton for his Chemistry I class at William & Mary during the 1915/1916 academic year.

Dates: 1915-1916

John Lloyd Newcomb Note

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.207
Scope and Contents

Note to the faculty of William & Mary, written by John Lloyd Newcomb and signed by him and G. L. Stevens, requesting permission to leave campus for their homes for a specific period of time.

Dates: 1897 April 22

Filtered By

  • Subject: Alumni and Alumnae X
  • Subject: Alumni and Alumnae X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 41
College of William and Mary--Students 27
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 19
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 7
College of William and Mary--History 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 6
Alumni and Alumnae 4
Certificates 2
College of William and Mary Anniversaries, etc 2
Correspondence 2
Education 2
Indians as mascots 2
School mascots 2
Sororities 2
Sororities--Social 2
Academic writing 1
Acting 1
Actresses--United States 1
Art and religion 1
Athletics 1
Athletics--Basketball 1
Athletics--Track 1
Awards and scholarships 1
Banners 1
Basketball for women 1
Beanie cap 1
Business 1
Buttons (information artifacts) 1
Class materials 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College campuses -- Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College sports for women 1
Demonstrations 1
Education, Higher 1
Elections--United States--History 1
Essays 1
Feminism and the arts 1
Feminism--United States 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Gay and lesbian dance parties 1
Gay and lesbian studies 1
Gay college students 1
Gay men -- Sexual behavior -- United States 1
Gay men's writings 1
Gay rights--United States--History--20th century 1
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Students and Alumni 1
Government--Study and teaching 1
Graduation (School) 1
Homecoming 1
Indians of North America 1
Indians of North America--Virginia 1
Interviews 1
Lapel Pins 1
Lesbian activists 1
Marches 1
Medals 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Notebooks 1
Oral histories 1
Pennants 1
Photographs 1
Pins 1
Political activists -- United States 1
Press releases 1
Publications 1
Report cards 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Social 1
Student Organizations 1
Student activities 1
Students 1
T-shirts 1
Tercentenary of the College--1993 1
Theater 1
University of Virginia--History 1
Washington (D.C.) 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Women's rights--United States 1
Women--Education (Higher)--United States 1
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
Greek, Ancient (to 1453) 1
Hebrew 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary. 4
Allison, Anna Dorsey Cooke 1
Bagby, George William, 1828-1883 1
Bevan, Barbara Ruth 1
Brookins, Gary 1