Papers, 1831-1863, of John B. Floyd, governor of Virginia, United States Secretary of War and Confederate general. The papers, chiefly 1850-1862, concern the three positions he held. Correspondents include James Buchanan, Jefferson Davis, Samuel Houston, Benjamin Huger, Alexander von Humboldt, R. M. T. Hunter, Charles James Faulkner, Jenny Lind, James Murray Mason, William Ballard Preston, Winfield Scott, John Tyler, Daniel Webster and the Duke of Wellington.
Account book, 1842-1849, of B. F. Garrett, attorney, Williamsburg, Va. Includes account with John Tyler, Jr.
The collection consists of one letter written by journalist, politician, and then-supporter of President John Tyler, Duff Green. The letter is marked confidential and the recipient is unnamed. It concerns the rumor in Washington, D.C. that the president would veto a forthcoming bank bill, as he had a prior bill, and that his cabinet had agreed to resign if the bill was vetoed. Green also mentions an alternative bank plan developed at the president's request.
Letter written by John Jordan Crittenden to John Bell, dated Dec. 21, 1841. Acknowledges receiving Bell's recent letter, states that Bell should not withdraw from politics because his services" and also talks about U. S. President John Tyler.
This collection consists of a Daguerreotype of three individuals, possible U.S. President John Tyler, his son John, Jr, and an unidentified woman. The daguerreotype was done by J.H. Whitehurst.
Letter from United States Senator John Tyler (1790- 1862) to Benjamin Ogle Tayloe dated May 30, 1835. In it he discussed horses and horse racing. He also comments on the recent Democratic Party convention of 1835. As a newly emerged Whig party leader, Tyler was nonplussed by the nomination of Martin Van Buren and voiced support that Virginia voters would go for Judge White (Hugh Lawson White) one of four Whig Presidential candidates in 1836.
Letter from John Tyler to Virginia Governor Henry A. Wise dated July 4, 1855. The letter states that Wise's being elected Governor would not be inconsistent with his remaining on William & Mary's Board of Visitors, and that other members of the Board hope Wise will not resign.
This collection contains materials relating to Robert Hunt Land's work on the history of the College of William and Mary. It includes a published description of Land's proposed history of the college, notes and correspondence about the proposed history, and biographical information about alumni (1814-1881). It also contains correspondence between Herbert Ganter, Earl Gregg Swem, and Robert Hunt Land about Ganter's research on William and Mary at the Library of Congress.
A two page handwritten letter signed by President John Tyler on a folded sheet of paper. Letter is addressed to Eli, likely Elisha R. Potter. One engraving featuring President John Tyler.
Two page letter from Saunders, President of the College of William and Mary, from Williamsburg, Virginia to The Honorable Henry A. Wise, informing him that a messenger had arrived recently to inform him that John Tyler had been elected President of the United States.
Papers, 1797-1850, of the Tazewell family. Includes letter, 1797, written by Samuel H. Smith to Henry Tazewell concerning his paper, The Universal Gazette and discussing foreign affairs; and letters, 1804-1850, written by Henry S. Foote and William Nelson, Jr. to Littleton Waller Tazewell; and one anonymous letter addressed to Tazewell and John Tyler (1790-1862) concerning army promotions.
Additions to the Tyler Family Papers that are not shelved with Mss. 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers, Groups A-H are included on the pdf inventories.
Please see the record for 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers.
Many of these additions can logically be incorporated into the Groups A-H, and possibly will be in the future.
Chiefly writings, ca. 1880-1935, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, historian. Most concern Virginia history in the colonial period, or defend his father, John Tyler, or defend the southern point of view in the Civil War. Includes an unpublished history of the Virginia Line in the American Revolution. Also includes writings, 1921-1951, of his second wife, Sue Ruffin Tyler, and of other authors.
Papers, 1750-1935, which are miscellaneous manuscripts with Tyler family connections. Include a scrapbook which includes correspondence of John Tyler, Thomas Walker Gilmer and St. George Tucker mostly with nineteenth- century Virginia politicians. Papers also include printed material, photographs of people and buildings and miscellaneous notes perhaps collected by Lyon G. Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler.
Letter written and signed by John Tyler in Charles City, Va. , September 9, 1819 to Robert S. Stanard in Richmond, Virginia concerning a chancery suit between Knib and Dr. Dixon's Exors which had earlier been handled by John Tyler's Father in Williamsburg, Virginia.