Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 626 - 650 of 5028

Carl Eugene Buffington Papers, 1939

 Collection — Box: UA Small Collections Box 6, Folder: 1
Identifier: UA 5.135
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a script copy, photograph, and event program for the William & Mary's Backdrop Club production of "Set to Munich," a musical satire about the Munich Four Power Agreement, which refers to Nazi Germany's expansion in Europe.  The play was co-written by Willim & Mary students Eugene Buffington, Roger Child, Bill Greene, and Nick Woodbridge in 1939.

Dates: 1939
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Buford Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00995
Scope and Contents Papers, 1840-1892, of the Buford family of Bedford County, Va., consisting of letters, mostly addressed to Capt. Paschal Buford (1791-1875). Other correspondents include his wife Frances Ann Otey Buford and his daughter Maggie (Margaret Letitia) Buford. Some letters to Paschal Buford were written by his daughter Bettie (Mildred Elizabeth) and her husband Edward C. Burks. Also includes financial records, wedding invitations, records relating to horse breeding and a note book, circa 1880....
Dates: 1845-1895
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Emma Bull Commonplace Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00857
Scope and Contents

Commonplace book, 1834-1846 of Emma Bull (b. 1812). Contains poems, some of which are possibly her own, and prayers. Toward the end of the book she entered birth dates for herself, her husband Charles B. Conner and their children, as well as her marriage date.

Dates: 1834-1845
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James P. Bull Indenture

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01279
Scope and Contents

Indenture, 4 April 1827, made between James P. Bull, Towanda, Pennsylvania and Gould Seymour, Pike, Bradford County, Pennsylvania for 101 acres of land in Bradford County.

Dates: 1827 April 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Bullock Letter to James Anderson

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00211
Scope and Contents

Letter from John Bullock, Williamsboro, North Carolina to James Anderson, Cottage Home, North Carolina about church strife between the minister and another man (Church of Shiloh and Church of Nutback), the deterioration of the old mansion house, family news and more.  November 12, 1856.

Dates: 1856 November 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carl M. Bunker Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01010
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1944-1945, written by Carl M. Bunker, a private in the US Army during World War II, to his parents in Dayton, Ohio. 

Dates: 1944-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bureau County Coal Company Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01277
Scope and Contents Account book, 1921-1922 of the Bureau County Coal Company, not Inc., of Sheffield, Illinois.  Dialy entries record employees' names, pay and productivity for tasks such as mining, slack, entry coal, room coal, day work, entry driving, room turning and top expense. The following information was provided by the seller: "Individual names being paid include Boswell, Hand and Son, King, Johnson, Shaw, Soderlund, Higgenfatten, and others.  Towns near Sheffield include Geneseo,...
Dates: 1921-1929
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Burgesses Day Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 176
Scope and Contents

This collection contains fliers and other publications for Burgesses Day at the College of William and Mary. Burgesses Day was held annually in the fall at the College, with members of the General Assembly and executive officers of the Commonwealth as guests, in commemoration of the periods 1700-1704 and 1747-1754 when the House of Burgesses met on the campus.

Dates: 1962-1979, 1986
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Alice Burke Letter to Mrs. Dr. Dinges

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00212
Scope and Contents

Letter from Alice Burke to Mrs. Dr. Dinges of Mt. Crawford, Virginia requesting her recipe for mince pie.  February 1, 1874.

Dates: 1874 February 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Martin Parks Burks Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B91
Scope and Contents

Martin Parks Burks was the deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia. Chiefly accounts, receipts, and business letters of Martin P. Burks, 1798-1866, including records while he was deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia.

Dates: 1798-1866
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Edward M. Burleigh Letter to Charlotte D. Burleigh

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00213
Scope and Contents

Letter from Edward M. Burleigh to his sister, Charlotte D. Burleigh of New Hampshire, about Sophia's death, family and his farm.  June 3, 1848.

Dates: 1848 June 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Tandy Burrus Ledger

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.131
Scope and Contents Based on information gathered by Special Collections staff in 2011, there appear to be three possible creators of the ledger: William Tandy Burrus (1766 or 1776-1831), WTB (?-prior to 1836?), or William Stevens (1773-1843).The ledger (200 pp., 15 pages are missing in the front, several pages are missing in back, and several halves of pages are missing) records transactions for miscellaneous merchandise, wheat and tobacco. The contra page shows payments were mostly made in cash,...
Dates: 1801-1895
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Office of the Bursar Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 72
Scope and Contents The records of the Office of the Bursar are some of the earliest and most comprehensive records of the College of William and Mary from the 18th century surviving to the present day.  Of particular note are various references to individuals enslaved by the College as well as to the Brafferton Indian School.  The collection includes Bursar's reports, financial statements, statements of rents due to the College, accounts with individuals, lists of tenants, receipts and expenditures, revenues...
Dates: 1739-1918, 1977-1987
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Burtis Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01161
Scope and Contents Letter from A.P. Baugh [Abner P. Baugh] certifying that "after an examination of the dwelling house belonging to C.E.D. Burtis, situated near Bumpass, Va, it is my opinion that $250 will be ample to put the builidng in good condition..." April 20, 1934. Letter from S.R. Jeter, Ashland, Virginia, to C.E.D. Burtis in Bumpass, Virginia telling him how to change his beneficiary with Winance (?) Council #60. Handwritten notations about construction costs. Pencil drawing of a house and yard with a...
Dates: 1847, 1934
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Burton-Alston Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00167
Scope and Contents Letter to Elizabeth Burton in Williamsboro, Granville County, North Carolina from her Aunt Adeline Alston, dated 1850 and letter to niece Margaret Burton in Williamsboro, Granville County, North Carolina from Aunt M. P. Alston, dated 1863.  Family news, particularly health of family members.Per an Alston researcher: "Marina Priscilla Williams Alston (1810-1897) was married to George Washington Alston (1801-1849) in 1829. They had 3 sons, Philip, William, and George Jr. After...
Dates: 1850 April 20, 1863 January 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Burwell-Catlett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 B95
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1794-1887, of the Burwell family of Virginia, North Carolina, Alabama, and Mississippi. Includes letters of Mary Cole Turnbull Burwell and her children including Armistead Burwell, Benjamin Powell Burwell, Frances King Burwell Catlett, Robert Burwell, William T. Burwell (at the United States Military Academy), Charles Blair Burwell, and concerning these children and her other children Elizabeth Margaret Burwell Putnam and Anne Burwell Garland.Subjects include...
Dates: 1794-1887
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Burwell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B95
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of the Burwell family papers of Powhatan County and Richmond, Va. These papers consist of financial papers and correspondence. Correspondence discusses the Civil War, Virginia history, and other Virginia related topics.

See also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C Reel # 01 in Swem Library’s microforms area, call number HQ1438 .V5 S68

Dates: 1853-1911
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

David Ives Bushnell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B96
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1917-1941, of anthropologist David Ives Bushnell, Jr., including correspondence concerning his research on Indians in North America; diaries, address lists, specimen lists, photographs, magazines, pamphlets, and maps pertaining to his work. Also includes correspondence of his mother, Belle Johnston Bushnell.The collection also contains a typescript of the journal of Rudolph Friederich Kurz; letters written by William Cullen Bryant (concerning Thanatopsis), William...
Dates: 1797-1941
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bushrod Washington Letter to George Turberville

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00609
Scope and Contents Letter, 1787 November 4, from Bushrod Washington of Richmond to George Turberville in Westmoreland County. He writes that he has enclosed a copy of [minutes?] from the Federal Convention, and resolutions of the Virginia House of Delegates. He discusses the defeat of a bill to repeal the Port Law, the debate concerning the printing of paper money and his hopes for relief from the present taxation and the fact that the additional duty on tobacco has been removed. He states he will be a...
Dates: 1787 November 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Vice President for Business Affairs Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 63
Scope and Contents This collection includes the files of former Vice Presidents of Business Affairs William J. Carter, Lawrence Broomall, and Robert English. Topics include the Society of the Alumni, the Athletic Association, the Computer Center, academic departments and schools, tuition statistics, Affirmative Action, the Board of Visitors, the sale of Eastern State property, the Endowment Association, the bookstore, alcohol, campus properties, Highland (Ash Lawn), and asbestos removal. The collection largely...
Dates: Majority of material found in 1960-1980
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

School of Business, Field Consultancy Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 358
Scope and Contents

This collection contains photographs and negatives of students and companies involved with the Field Consultancy program in the School of Business at the College of William and Mary from 2001-2004. The collection also contains digital images and other digital files that were transferred to Swem Library on compact discs.

Dates: 1997-2004; Majority of material found in 1997-2004
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

School of Business Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 312
Scope and Contents

The records of the Mason School of Business at the College of William and Mary include correspondence, reports, publications, photographs, and other material. These records originated in the Office of the Dean as well as other units of the school.

Dates: 1949-2009
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Butcher Account Books, Jefferson County, W. Va.

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ab35-MsV Ab39
Scope and Contents

Five Account books, 1866-1871, of an unidentified butcher, kept probably in Jefferson County, West Virginiaa.

Dates: 1866-1871
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Butcher Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ab40
Scope and Contents

Memorandum book, ca. 1850-1899, of an unidentified [butcher?] containing a few accounts.

Dates: 1850-1899
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Benjamin Butler Letter to Henry A. Wise

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01363
Scope and Contents

One page letter in response to President Wise's claim for the college of William and Mary to receive war repararations caused to the property during the Civil War. Butler's response to Wise was that the filed claim was not approved by Congress.

Dates: 1871 April 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 952
Account books 512
Photographs 405
College of William and Mary--Students 381
Diaries 336
∨ more
Financial records 284
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 279
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 278
Scrapbooks 257
Letters (correspondence) 233
Legal documents 217
Ledgers (Accounting) 203
Reports 174
Notebooks 164
World War, 1939-1945 155
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 154
Receipts (financial records) 151
Fliers (printed matter) 149
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 143
Minutes 133
Programs 126
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Women--Diaries 117
Manuscripts (document genre) 115
Clippings (information artifacts) 102
Publications 87
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 80
Journals (accounts) 77
Pamphlets 77
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 75
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 71
Newsletters 65
Genealogy 64
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 62
World War, 1914-1918 60
Booklets 59
Printed ephemera 58
Typescripts 58
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 55
Certificates 54
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 52
Poems 52
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 51
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 48
Invitations 47
Postcards 47
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 47
Virginia--Genealogy 47
Women college students 47
Newspapers 46
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 45
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 43
Class materials 42
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 42
Agendas (administrative records) 41
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 41
Speeches 41
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 41
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 41
American Civil War, 1861-1865 40
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
Daybooks 39
Speeches, addresses, etc. 39
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 38
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 38
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 37
Women--Travel 37
Invoices 36
Memorandums 36
New York (State)--Social life and customs 36
Photocopies 36
World War, 1939-1945--United States 36
Announcements 35
Autograph albums 35
Minute books 35
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 35
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 35
United States--Politics and Government 34
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 34
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 33
American poetry--19th century 32
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 32
Accounts 31
Maps 31
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 31
Business records 30
Athletics 29
Women--History--Virginia 29
United States--History--War of 1812 28
Photostats 27
Recipes 26
Teenage girls--Diaries 26
Virginia--History 26
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 26
Women--Societies and clubs 26
World War, 1914-1918--France 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
College of William and Mary--History 25
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 25
Posters 25
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 4942
German 56
French 45
Spanish; Castilian 38
Latin 29
∨ more
Japanese 9
Arabic 5
Chinese 5
Dutch; Flemish 5
Italian 5
Hebrew 3
English, Old (ca.450-1100) 2
Greek, Modern (1453-) 2
Hindi 2
Norwegian 2
Portuguese 2
Ukrainian 2
Duala 1
Greek, Ancient (to 1453) 1
Russian 1
Swedish 1
Tagalog 1
Undetermined 1
Urdu 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 246
College of William and Mary. 124
Gary Alonzo Barranger 119
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 102
College of William and Mary 87
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty 36
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 30
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 29
Office of the President 27
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 26
Barranger & Company, Inc. 25
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 24
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 24
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 23
College of William and Mary. School of Education 21
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 21
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 20
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 19
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 18
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 18
Madison, James, 1749-1812 18
College of William and Mary--Sports 17
United States. Army. 17
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 17
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 16
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 15
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 15
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 15
State Male Normal College of Virginia 15
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 14
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 14
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 14
United States Congress 14
College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. 13
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 13
University of Virginia 13
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 12
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 12
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 12
Virginia House of Delegates 12
Washington, George, 1732-1799 12
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 11
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 11
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 11
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 11
United States. Army 11
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 11
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 10
Tucker 10
Tyler Family 10
United States Navy 10
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 10
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 9
Choir and Chorus 9
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 9
Democratic Party (U.S.) 9
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 9
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 9
Student Activities 9
Virginia State Senate 9
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 9
Camp Peary (Va.) 8
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 8
Democratic Party (Va.) 8
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 8
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 8
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 8
Republican Party (U.S.) 8
Society of the Alumni 8
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 8
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 7
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 7
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 7
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 7
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 7
Galt family 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Madison, James, 1751-1836 7
Nichol, Gene R., 1951- 7
Student Life--1990's 7
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 7
Verkuil, Paul R 7
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Washington family 7
Whig Party (U.S.) 7
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 7
American Red Cross 6
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 6
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 6
Development Office--Endowment Association 6
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 6
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 6
Gloucester County Board of Supervisors 6
+ ∧ less